Great Ocean Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
February 9th 2007
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Melbourne to Tantanoola

via Geelong, Torquay, Aireys Inlet, Lorne, Apollo Bay and the 12 Apostles

Monday 5th February 2007
Said our goodbyes to the Lisa's family and left Melbourne on the Great Ocean Road. We stopped at an Aboriginal Arts Centre where Lisa spent ages trying to decide what to buy and ended up leaving with nothing!

We carried on along the Great Ocean Road from Geelong to Torquay, where we stopped to watch kite surfers. I was amazed to see a few kiters in their 50s and 60s and one bloke in particular who had lost all his teeth and his hearing (we tried talking to him). He totally changed my outlook to life past 40! I had given up on life in old age and thought it pointless if you couldn't do things you love - he really had a huge affect on me! Thank you old kite surfer dude!

We drove on and stopped again at Spit Lighthouse at Aireys Inlet where we saw loads of colourful and white birds.

We stopped again at Lorne where we made diner.

After diner we drove on to Apollo Bay and spent the night in the information centre's parking lot.

Tuesday 6th February 2007
After breakfast (which was always the same
This guy changed my outlook on lifeThis guy changed my outlook on lifeThis guy changed my outlook on life

He has lost his teeth and hearing but still gets out there kite surfing!!
for us - two very cheap cereals mixed together) we drove to the 12 Apostles (now only 7) We watched all the Robinson R44 helicopters (similar to the type I would hopefully one day trained in) and walked to the ocean, hounded by bloody flies all the way. When we came back I tried to make us lunch while the flies continued to really piss me off. I HATE flies and these f#@kers were persistent. As I tried to make lunch and fight off the flies Lisa laid in the back of the van taking photos and pissing herself. It must have looked like I had Terretts Syndrome - with the head/hand tick and the constant swearing. F#@kers!

My lunch of noodles and corned beef was 'interesting', but I ate it all :-)

We then continued the rest of the Great Ocean Road and got back on to Princes Highway to Mt. Gambiel. We spotted live kangaroos on the roadside. We stopped to eat at a hotel and pulled up the van on the roadside in the tiny Tantanoola.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Me and f@#king fliesMe and f@#king flies
Me and f@#king flies

Lisa laughing so much she can't focus the camera!
Me and f@#king fliesMe and f@#king flies
Me and f@#king flies

I'm trying to cook and keep the bastards out of my eyes/nose/mouth.
Taking photos of...Taking photos of...
Taking photos of...

someone else taking a photo - that is all these two did!
Nice place!Nice place!
Nice place!

Looking out to sea
RandomRandom
Random

They have these 'drive on left' signs in the strangest places - nowhere near a car ferry or airport!!


Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb