St. Paddy's, Birthday parties, crashing parties and wine tasting in Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide » Glenelg
March 19th 2011
Published: March 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

G'day from Glenelg (pronounced Glen-L)!

Flew from Canberra to Adelaide on Thursday the 17th...St Paddies Day!. Staying at the Glenelg Beach backpackers Hostel...literally a two minute walk to the beautiful while sandy beach of Glenelg. This place has a lovely resort feel to it. The tram is a 30 second walk from the hostel and takes you directly to city center.

Once settled into the hostel I took off for the beach but I didn't quite make it. I was shanghaied by two fun St. Patrick's Day revelers who offered to buy me a drink! I sat down and they ordered a bottle of Shiraz. Yup...this place is cool! Took a walk to the end of the pier afterwards feeling groovy. Past two 'other' guys eating yummy looking fish and chips, that were wrapped in paper. The guy thought I was looking at him...but I had to tell him the truth and say I was looking at his food. They told me the Fish and Chips place was just down the block. Got my dinner and ate in the square directly across from the already hopping Dublin's Irish Pub. Fed the seagulls my left over chips!

Met up with the Fish and Chips guys in Dublins. We drank Guiness and watched the River Dancers dance! It was a fun night. We all got along so well, that the one guy (Kym) whose birthday it was that night, invited me to his birthday dinner the following night.

Back at the hostel and still in the partying mood, I shared my Doonkuna red wine with Francois, a travelling Belgian guy. Surprisingly enough I woke up feeling great!

In the morning, after a free toast, jam and coffee brekkie (at the hostel), I hopped on the tram to the city. Walked over to the covered Public Market (very Pike Market) and ate an early lunch....korean pancake, three scallop dim sums, and a sesame rice ball. It was perfect. Took free bus to the Botanical Gardens and checked out some cool stuff. Wandered over to the Wine Center....and ended up crashing a party. There is a big car show in town this weekend...so, there are events scattered throughout Adelaide. Anyway, I popped in to this room full of people, and before you know it....a waiter was handing me a beer. I am like...cool! Ended up drinking that and imbibing in a glass of red wine and some chicken skewers before I left. I felt a little guilty...but hey...my mischievous side was coming out!

Took bus to the Artistic License Art Gallery. One of the Fish and Chips guys had some paintings there, I said I would try and check out. He is good!

Back in town, went to the State Library for a little free wifi action.

Then, took tram/bus to the birthday party at the Tonsley Hotel. The gathering consisted of 20 of Kym's family and friends. Kym (birthday boy) and Steve (the artist) were happy to see me! I was introduced to everyone and made to feel very welcome. I especially took to Kym's mom...she was like my old good family friend Amy Hansen but with an aussie accent. She was so cute, fun and hip. She made the most delicious Pavlova for Kym's birthday cake. We all had drinks, and Kym's family paid for my dinner. I had Barramundi...a fish from Northern Australia. The mom took me back to my hostel.

Today, I took a wine tour of the Barossa valley. I got picked up at my hostel. There were 15 of us on the tour. We had a very informative tour bus driver. We stopped at the giant rocking horse, four delicious wineries, had lunch, and went to the whispering wall. The whispering wall is a curved dam...that when one person is at the far end of it and talks into the wall...you can actually here him at the far other end. Weird!! I ended up buying a lovely Tawny Port.

Doing laundry now and using Mc D's free wifi.

Taking bus to Meadows in the morning to start my week at the sheep station. Baaaaaa!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



19th March 2011

Wonderful land of Oz
It sounds wonderful Kristina and so happy to hear you are having such a marvelous time. How is the work on the farm going?
20th March 2011

vino?
oh the vino...it looks so good! how much are you bringing home? extra case under your arm for me..
31st March 2011

Good-bye Aussie Lane
It was so much fun seeing Australia through your eyes. You have a real gift with your lens. But in the end, I'm glad to have you back in the good ol' USA! Another trip done, when to start planning the next trip?

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb