Week 2. Looking around and getting some work...maybe


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide » Glenelg
November 4th 2010
Published: November 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I have been here a while now and starting to learn my way around. I haven't really been to the City enough, am thinking maybe I am spending too much time dossing around doing things like this so I am going to make an effort to go and explore more. I went to the botanic gardens which is like the Dane John Gardens in Canterbury 100x nicer.
Went and saw Port Elliot and South of Adelaide a bit. Also went to a crazy German-esque town called Handorf up in the Hills after going to a conservation park where I saw my first kangaroo (that was alive, I'd already eaten a bit of one and seen some dead on the road.) Got to hold a koala like a proper tourist too. I've also been for a walk near waterfall gulley which is gorgeous. Apparently it normally has no water but I've been lucky enough to see it with some due to the high rainfall this winter.
Ive begun planning a little of what Im going to do when I leave here. I am hopefully going to get a train - The Ghan, up to Alice Springs and then do a group trip on a bus back to Adelaide taking in Uluru/Ayers Rock, Kings Canyon, The Flinders Ranges and Cober Pedy on the way. You spend a night underground at Cober Pedy which should be a laugh. I also bought my WOOF guidebook - a directory of farms that will put you up in exchange for work. Some of them are in amazing locations - right on the side of Cradle Mountain or something. I am hoping to stay on one on kangaroo Island soon after I leave.
Anyway - this is all in the future....in the now I had a trial shift today which I think went well but Im not sure. I think they are at least going to give me a few proper shifts to try me out. And past my birthday on the 12th its $18 an hour - equivalent to 12pounds!! Bit better than 5pound back home. Anyway - I am touching wood. Thats all for now folks. No photos Im afraid as havnt got the right programme. You'll have to use your imaginations

Advertisement



4th November 2010

Hi MADDIE
Liked your photos looks like your having a good time barbies and kangeroos large cruisers ect Love you Lots will Email

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb