Nature's Orchestra and Fireflies


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
September 23rd 2009
Published: October 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Go Ryno !Go Ryno !Go Ryno !

Neurum Creek
Sitting by the campfire...chatting...chillaxing, when all of a sudden, a number of strange sparks appeared in the dark. My heart started to beat like a jungle drum. Can they be ... the enchanting magical creatures I haven't seen since I was a child ? A sense of nostalgia flooded my senses. I felt like a kid again. I found myself chasing these twinkling little creatures with Ryan. We caught a few...had a close look...savoured the joy they bring, then set them free.

I never knew fireflies existed in Australia. It was such a complete surprise to have stumbled upon these magical creatures in our campsite. It's been decades since I saw one. They say fireflies are canaries in the coal mine. They are good indicators of the health of the environment. Experts say that the numbers of fireflies are dwindling around the world due to industrialization - the loss of habitat, water, air and light pollution.

I booked the Archer campground because it is smaller than the other campsite at Mount Mee and more remote. Its remoteness made it a perfect habitat for rare and endangered creatures to thrive. Other rare wildlife we saw are bilbies, pademelons and birds
My sweet Ryan and IMy sweet Ryan and IMy sweet Ryan and I

Archer Campground
with unusual mating calls.


Nature's Orchestra



At dusk, the cicadas, frogs and kookaburras all play their own musical tunes, followed by the light show of the enchanting fireflies. A spectacular nature's entertainment at its best !

At dawn, I get awaken by amazing birdsongs I haven't heard before. I lay awake just listening ...

... then get up for a cup of tea by the campfire.

Our stay at the campsite was cut short. Whilst having a dip in the rock pool, one of the other campers came to deliver a frightening news - bushfires are raging at Mount Mee....we have to pack now and go. I was in a state of panic. I couldn't feel my feet whilst walking back to the campsite. My first thought was to just leave all our camping gears, get in the car and leave. I have no clue how close the bushfires were. The bushfire in the state of Victoria where 173 souls perished just last February 2009 is still fresh in my memory. The worst bushfire tragedy in the Australian history. Majority of bushfires are caused by arson, cigarette butts thrown out of the window from
Neurum CreekNeurum CreekNeurum Creek

Archer Campground
a passing motorist or visitors, lightning and occasionally by spontaneous combustion.



We enjoyed our stay at Mount Mee immensely and hoping to camp there again next year.



P.S

Lyrics to Ryan's song on the video he learned at school:

We are one, but we are many
And from all the land on earth we come
We share a dream, and sing with one voice
I am, You are, we are Australians ...
(or citizens of earth is probably more fitting).




Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

GoannaGoanna
Goanna

Archer Campground
Neurum CreekNeurum Creek
Neurum Creek

Archer Campground
Neurum CreekNeurum Creek
Neurum Creek

Archer Campground
Neurum CreekNeurum Creek
Neurum Creek

Archer Campground
Neurum CreekNeurum Creek
Neurum Creek

Archer Campground
RynoRyno
Ryno

Archer Campground
GoannaGoanna
Goanna

Archer Campsite


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb