Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
September 27th 2003
Published: September 27th 2003
Edit Blog Post

Mt. Whitfield, CairnsMt. Whitfield, CairnsMt. Whitfield, Cairns

A hike up Mt. Whitfield about 10 minutes North of my flat in Cairns...amongst the bamboo
Canz or Carns? It's a never-ending dispute of how the name is actually pronounced, but I believe the Aussie pronunciation is "Canz."

Cairns- going to a new place you never know what to expect. I'd always thought Cairns was on the ocean, but I guess I thought wrong. Cairns is just the link to all the natural wonders of North Queensland. Although it is the tourist capital of Queensland, walking around today, I saw that it truly is a beautiful city.

Surrounded by lush rainforests, it is a very tropical city with a nice, laidback feel about it. There's not much to Cairns, but so far, the atmosphere fits.

Walking off the plane, the humidity hit me like a blanket. I felt as though I'd just flown into Orlando from San Diego... the heat is in full blast already and it's only Spring!

After covering every block of Cairns today, CV's in hand, asking the all too familiar question, "Are you hiring?" Erin and I both have a trial tomorrow at an Irish pub, PJ O'Brien's.

"So, we'll try you in the bar tomorrow?" the manager said.

"To be honest, I've never been BEHIND the

Erin and I in our flat in North Cairns..
bar before," I replied.

"Well, give it a go?"

"Uh, yeah, sure. I'm willing to try."

"See you at 12 tomorrow."

All I could think was crap! What am I getting myself into? Clutsy me, in the bar... nice.

So, all I can say is - stay tuned. This should be interesting...






Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb