Highlights at Moreton Bay Research Station


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
March 31st 2008
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Got back late from Alice... Had to fly from Alice to Sydney, Sydney to Brisbane b/c there was no direct flight home. Flight into Sydney was quite nice--flew in over the Opera House and the Harbor Bridge, a very lovely view. However, in Sydney, my flight to BNE was canceled! As soon as the announcement was made, I sprinted to the customer service desk, as I had my trip to Stradbrook Island leaving at 7:30 AM the next day. I managed to get myself onto the next flight to Brisbane, and ended up getting back only about 1 1/2 hours after I expected. I proceeded to do laundry and then repack my bag for the next trip, upload my photos from my tour, and then collapse.

Left early the next morning for Moreton Bay, b/c we had to catch a ferry across to Stradbrook Island. We got into the research station (which was very new and swanky), and then it started raining... We did some sein netting in the rain, as well as a tour of the beaches in the wet rain and wet, salty water. Got back the research station for tea, thought about projects to be completed the
Cars lined up Cars lined up Cars lined up

See our bus?
next day, and then spent my evening in the library trying to schedule for next year at Muhlenberg.

The next day we did our field work (we counted the population of the Mulberry snail at different tidal heights) and wrote up our data into a powerpoint presentation. I think the coolest work was done by a group who did sein netting in sand and seagrass; they caught heaps of different stuff, including a blue ringed octopus (highly venomous, about the size of a golf ball, and you won't feel it if it bites you--yikes!). We also saw some Aboriginals dancing outside the research station with a group of tourists; it was a free show for us. ^__^ The adults were very good, but the kids who were dancing were absolutely adorable and really quite good as well! (Speaking of this reminds me; I got to play a didgeridoo when we were staying at King's Canyon--I was one of the few who could get a noise out of it! Really interesting sound, that). I enjoyed watching them, and then got back to work. We presented that night, and then I hit the sack while most of my classmates went out
Sein NettingSein NettingSein Netting

One group's experiment.
to the local bar.

Woke up the next morning and got a day of fun. We hiked around a good part of the island's headland and beaches, seeing some fantastic views along the way. There was a rock, called Wailing Rock, with a blowhole (essentially, when the waves hit it right, water would shoot up the hole and make a noise like a whale exhaling), fantastic cliffs, and sea turtles. We ended up at a beach where I went swimming for a good long while (great body surfing there! Excellent waves, and very clear water), saw dolphins, and played some beach cricket (which I totally ended up looking like an american while playing; I proceeded to hit the ball, drop the bat, and slid into the wickett; you're not supposed to throw the bat, but rather keep it with you, and you don't want to hit the wickett at all, b/c that will make you out). I was awful at bowling, and ended up throwing the ball like a baseball (at the head/shoulders) rather than a cricket ball (towards the ground, to be hit by the batter swinging at the ball rather like a golf club). I learned that
Puffer!Puffer!Puffer!

Poor little guy.
a full game of cricket lasts 5 days, and is civilized enough to have breaks for tea... how British, how cute. ^___^ (By the way, the research station totally spoiled me for food--it was good, and you had breakfast, morning tea, lunch, afternoon tea, and dinner, every day--5 meals!)

We then had to leave after our day at the beach, and ended up at UQ for dinner. I proceeded to check to make sure my work for Monday was done, and collapse. I was woken up by a fire alarm at 2 AM this morning from burnt toast (I think): I was slightly upset, having been sleeping quite soundly... All in all, however, it was a fantastic series of holiday adventures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Long TomLong Tom
Long Tom

Evil, evil fish. Several people are killed each year when these jump out of the water and impale you thru the heart or thru the eye. Lovely. This one was very interested in biting (with needle-sharp teeth) the hands of the people that caught him, and eating the smaller fish in the bin.
ShorelineShoreline
Shoreline

I liked the rowboat. ^__^
Stingray holesStingray holes
Stingray holes

See all the little round divots all over the place? Stingrays ate there--they basically plastered themselves to the sand and blew all the sand away from whatever was living here, and ate it.
Hike, Day IIIHike, Day III
Hike, Day III

Finally the weather cleared.
18 Mile Beach18 Mile Beach
18 Mile Beach

Only a few surfers on the beach... beautiful.
Wailing RockWailing Rock
Wailing Rock

The view across the channel
Wailing RockWailing Rock
Wailing Rock

It was very high up
The channel, from the other sideThe channel, from the other side
The channel, from the other side

We saw sea turtles in there, grazing on the algae
BeachBeach
Beach

Beautiful!
Lava rocksLava rocks
Lava rocks

Lots of the beach is actually made of lava
Walking TreeWalking Tree
Walking Tree

These trees grow their roots forward, and the old ones at the back of the tree die off, so they can literally walk across a landscape (useful if the cliff you're living on is eroding).


1st April 2008

crazy trip
wow, sounds like you had a crazy, hectic, fun, amazing vacation! the octopus and that fish tom sound dangerous! anyways, hope you get/have gotten back into classes alright. ttyl
1st April 2008

Those are really gorgeous pictures; I'm so glad you had a great trip! Only 41 days until I get to see you! I can't wait! <3 XOXOXOXOXOXO

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb