Cruising Queensland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
April 1st 2024
Published: April 1st 2024
Edit Blog Post

The Pandemic was finally over, the ships had started their long journey home, and Friday 17th November 2023 was the date we officially booked our ‘14 Night Queensland cruise from Melbourne’ with the Grand Princess. But it didn’t start there.

You see, in 2020, we were originally booked to fly to Sydney to meet my Aunty, and Uncle to board the Majestic Princess (my dream ship) for a ‘ten night Queensland cruise until it was devastatingly cancelled when the COVID Pandemic occurred which put the International cruise industry on pause for over two years.

Now that the International borders have reopened, all the restrictions have lifted, and cruising his back where it belongs; it’s time for the ‘take two’ of the Queensland cruise.

THE PRINCESS MEDALLION:
Because of COVID, a lot of things have changed in the world of Cruising; including the introduction of the ‘Medallion Class Technology’ on all Princess Cruise ships; which was designed to make cruising more COVID friendly, and comes a Medallion Pendant for all the passengers. For more information go to: www.princess.com/en-au/blog/cruise-tips/what-is-medallion-class. All a board for my first Medallion Cruise with Princess Cruises. Bon Voyage!

THE DEPARTURE HAS FINALLY ARRIVED:
Two years after our original cruise got canceled due to COVID; our departure day has FINALLY arrived. Although our cruise started on the 17th of March; some of the passengers boarded the ship for the ‘Tasmania via Eden cruise’ which left Melbourne the week before ours did, and I keep forgetting ‘you can book cruises back to back.’

The departure today has finally arrived. I woke up at 8 o’clock for my usual morning walk with Bella on my greyhound before having breakfast in during the final preparations for our cruise before meeting my sister, who drove us to Station Pier wharf.

We left at 12:15pm, and my sister drove us to the wharf. When we finally got to our cabin, we unpacked and headed up to the Horrizon food court for lunch before our Master station drill and the departure.

After dinner we return to the cabin for a short time before leaving for the Princess Theatre for the Showtime performance for the cruise with Comedian ‘Jay McGee.’

OUR FIRST SEA DAY:
We woke up at 7:20am to an absolutely beautiful sea day, a room service breakfast, and the first Wake Show of the cruise.

Mum and I then went out separate ways. I went for my first swim in the ships indoor swimming pool; before going to the Princess event in the Vista lounge, and we’re returning to deck 14 for the first time movies under the stars film ‘PS I love you’ on the pool deck. Yes it’s a Chick-filck; but it’s a fantastic movie. I finished my drink, and went off to the Horizon food court on deck 14 for lunch before getting ready for the first Line Dancing class for the cruise, and the food first formal night.

After dinner in Michelangelos, we went to the wheelhouse bar for The famous ‘Yes, no game.’ I participated in it for the first time, and only lasted 15 seconds. When the fun ended, I left the wheelhouse bar and went up to the ships nightclub for one Dance before returning back to the cabin for the night.

NEWCASTLE, NEW SOUTH WALES:
I’ve lived in Sydney my whole life, and although I’ve been past Newcastle several times, I’ve never actually been to Newcastle. I’ve also never been to Port Stephens… until now.

>

The ship was supposed to leave at 5:30pm; but we left late during our 6:20pm dinner seating. It was country in western night on board the grand Princess, and some of the passengers got dressed up for the occasion.

After dinner, mum and I went out separate ways. I went up to the pool deck to watch ‘the Ant movie’ at movies under the stars.

OUR SECOND SEA DAY:
We’re on our way to Brisbane now, and it’s a beautiful second sea day. Because of a business of the day yesterday in Newcastle mum and I had a bit of a sleep in before waking up to a yummy room service breakfast. When we finished eating we went out separate ways, and I went up to the pool deck to watch ‘A man called Otto’ at movies under the sunlight, followed by a martini drinks demonstration; where I got a free drink.

It was a very hot sea day because we were sailing in Queensland tropical waters. After lunch in the Horrizon Food Court; I met mum at the Vista Lounge for the Line Dancing class before returning to the cabin for the afternoon.

After dinner, we went to the Princess Theatre to see Nathan Farley at Showtime; and I feel fortunate enough to be able to meet him and have a photo taken and get his autograph.

BRISBANE, QUEENSLAND:
We woke up at 7am to a room service breakfast, and the ship was already docked for the day. Unlike at Newcastle; mum & I did things a little bit differently. Instead of doing a shore excursion; we met up with an old friend who originally wanted to arrive early but she got a bit lost, and finally came at 10am to take us to South Bank Brisbane for the day followed by lunch at Whynem before returning us back to the ship in time for the 5pm departure.

I then had Dinner in the main dining room, and went to the Explorers Lounge for the famous cruise game ‘Are you smarter than a cruise director (and FYI ‘the Cruise Directors won). 😢. This was followed by the comedian in the Princess Theatre, and the dance party at the piazza before return to the cabin for the night.

OUR THIRD SEA DAY:
We woke up at 8am for our day on board the ship. After breakfast, I went up to deck 14 to watch the movie ‘Light year’ at Movies Under the sunlight, and a swim.

I then played ‘Guess the tune,’ and did the Line dance class in the Vista lounge. The session included ‘the Nutbush,’ and it’s a lot harder to do the Dance on border cruise ship because it’s rolling.

After lunch in the Horizon food court I had some spare time. So I walked all the way around (deck seven) the promenade deck, and played some of the on board Ocean Medallion games on the ships plasma screens before meeting up with mum in the Vista Lounge for some cruising fun with the Princess team.

When it finished, we both returned to the cabin to ready for dinner, the ‘50’s & 60’s jive party, and to watch Maverick at Movies under the stars before returning to the cabin for the night.

AIRLIE BEACH, QUEENSLAND:
We woke up at 6am and the Grand Princess was still arriving. The ship anchored off the coast of Airlie Beach at 7am; this was when we left our cabin to meet our group at the Princess Theatre.

It was so rough on the trip to, and from the pontoon to go snorkelling at the Great Barrier Reef but it was worth it because I saw so many fish and coral; I was also able to swim with my GoPro.

The time eventually came to return to the ship. Shortly after we came on board, the ship departed for Cairns. I was still feeling a little bit seasick so I had dinner with mum up on the horizon food court, and we enjoyed our meals in front of a big screen watching a bit of the AFL game (swans versus ESSEDON). I’m originally from Sydney, and I’ve got one thing to say, “Go ya Swannies!”

When we finished eating, we went to the Princess Theatre for Lisa Woodbrooks showtime performance; which was really entertaining. We then went to the wheelhouse bar for the event (which I was featured in), followed by the Elton John quiz in the Vista lounge. It was a very very full day, so mum went to the cabin and I went up to the nightclub to Dance the night away before returning to the cabin for the night.

CAIRNS, QUEENSLAND:
At 7:40am I awoke because the room service breakfast had arrived early. Mum was already awake on our balcony, and the ship was moving very very slowly.

Now like someone I know ‘I also like to start with something funny’ so here it is: “two beans were heading north from Melbourne. They ended up in Cairns.” 🤣 It’s both funny and true. Anyway, on with our day.

Although the shore excursion was amazing; it was so hot, and I couldn’t wait to get back to the ship because I really wanted to go for a swim to cool off before the departure.

Once at sea, I had dinner and sang ‘Music by Madonna’ at Karaoke @ Sea. I then enjoyed some of the ships night life before returning to the cabin for the night.

PORT DOUGLAS, QUEENSLAND:
Although we were having a great night sleep; we woke up at 6:40am because the crew was lowering the ships tender boats for the day. Visiting Port Douglas has been on my to do list (especially since the lockdowns) because of the location, and because it’s ‘the Aussie version of Fiji.’

Port Douglas is a beautiful place, and I enjoyed my time there, (especially the hummer ride which I was able to get for free using my on board credit). The only thing that wrecked it for me was ‘the heat, and the fact we had to wait on the mainland for several hours before our shore excursion actually started.

WILLIS ISLAND, QUEENSLAND:
Willis Island was the final Queensland port for our cruise, and it was time for some ‘Scenic Cruising.’ Willis Island is actually ‘Queenslands Weather Station.’ For more information go to: https://www.portplanner.com.au/port/willis-island-au.

On Tuesday 26th March, we arrived at 9:30am. During the one hour stay the local tour guide spoke to us from the island via the ships bridge, and the Grand Princess turned around twice (to give us some good angles of the island before sailing into international waters; bound for Sydney, NSW.

Although we all had permission to be there (because we were on a Cruise Ship); by definition this makes me ‘a cruising pirate.’ I like the sound of this so let me introduce myself, “I’m Karina… Cruising Pirate!” 🛳 🏴‍☠️

It was so hot up on deck and the seagulls were still flying around because we still need land. When the tour ended, I found a deck chair in the shade, and watched back to the future (part three) in the ships pool.

I then had lunch, returned to the cabin for a break, and then went to the ships Vista Lounge for some cruising fun before returning to the cabin to get ready for the ‘80’s Ultimate Deck Party.’

OUR FOURTH SEA DAY:
Mum & I requested the room service breakfast at 8am, and it was delivered to the cabin on time; but we thought it was 7am because of the time change (from Queensland time back to daylight savings time).

Seas days are one of my favourite days during a cruise because ‘you get to relax, enjoy the ship, and recover from all the amazing shore excursion you’ve done. We spent the day playing games together near the ships heated pool, going through our photos, participated in one of the quizzes on board, and then did our own thing in the afternoon before getting ready for dinner, and our final formal night for the cruise.

OUR FIFTH SEA DAY:
Our room service breakfast was delivered to our cabin at 7:30am. When we finished eating, we left our cabin to enjoy a day of fun on the pool deck; we’re I was finally able to swim in the adults only pool (located at the back of the ship. I also played a few games of Rummikins with mum, and watch my favourite movie ‘the Greatest showman’ under the sunlight.

Other things also happened; but the main highlight of the day was ‘when the Coral Princess sailed by on her way to Brisbane, and I was able to witness my first cruise ship horn battle.’

After dinner, we went to the Explorers Lounge for the Princess favourite cruise event ‘lip sync battle,’ and it was absolutely hilarious. This was followed by a rest in the cabin, and dinner in the Botchelli Restaurant where the ‘Bom
Alaska parade took place.’

This was followed by ‘the Adele tribute concert in the Princess Theatre, and a night of dancing fun on deck 7 before going to the cabin for the night.

SYDNEY, NEW SOUTH WALES:
I woke mum up at 7am when I looked through the curtain in the cabin and say ‘Sydney’ in front of our cruise ship. The tender boats were getting prepared to take people ashore for the day, and the ship was turning as it anchored sideways at Athol Bay, Sydney along with two other cruise ships (the Royal Princess and the Pacific adventure) that were in town on the same day.

After catching up with my auntie and uncle, we sold out to Abbotsford and met up with Jan (our ex- neighbour) for a drink at the Sydney Rowers club before catching the River Cat back to Sydney harbour

OUR SIXTH SEA DAY:
It was our final sea day, and we woke up at 7:30 am to our last room service delivered breakfast to our cabin. Taking Nick (the assistant cruise director’s advice from the night before); I spent the first part of the day packing before being free to adventure out to enjoy the ship.

I went swimming in ships the hot tubs (because it was too cold to swim), met the captain, what’s the cooking demonstration, toured one of the restaurant galleys, had lunch, attended an information session about Life at Sea with our amazing cruise Director, and picked up my photos before returning back to the cabin to get ready for our final meal at sea.

SAILING BACK INTO MELBOURNE:
Although the ship was due to dock in Melbourne at 7am; it was already docked when we woke up at 6:30am; to be out of the cabin by 8 am, and it was a real struggle disembarking because we had to take all our luggage off with us due to not getting a luggage tag.

Despite this issue, and the Queensland heat; it was a fantastic cruise, definitely the best one, and (from the words of the movie ‘the Greatest Showman’); I was definitely dreaming with my eyes wide open.

Special thanks to: ‘Cruise Director Sophie Gideon, Assistant Cruise Director Nick, Jossif, Abigail, and the Princess team. I look forward to cruising with you again soon.

Happy cruising


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb