Laaaaid Back at Mission Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
November 27th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

!!For the first time a story that's also new to Emma 😊. I'm here in Mission Beach, while she's already in Cairns. Our last day in Airlie has been really good actually, even better than expected. We discovered a cute little market, did a bush walk, and, last but not least, had great sushi. Was so much fun, there were all kinds of sushi you could choose, lying on little boats that floated by. And not expensive at all! The best thing was that Emma discovered she actually also likes sushi a lot, yoohoo, so we can also go out and have sushi back home 😊! And we went on the bus, Emma on the way to cairns, me to Townsville. So at 1 am, when Emma was already sleeping for a while, I got off the bus to have a night of sleep in Townsville. Fortunately I had already booked a hostel, but they had told me to just grab a cab, wouldn't be too expensive. Well, might be true, but me and another girl that also had to go to the same hostel couldn't find one anywhere around. After walking through the city we discovered the story was pretty much the same as in Brisbane, huge line ups for cabs in the weekends. So we decided to walk on, with out big backpacks.. Took us like 25 mins altogether, my gosh..

For the rest I haven't seen that much of Townsville, I took a bus to Mission Beach the next morning. But already there I discovered that travelling by yourself isn't that hard, it's so incredibly easy to meet people anywhere you go to. Of course it's more fun to share things with a good friend, but actually it's fun to travel by myself for a few days, an interesting experience.

So now I am in Mission beach, or to be more precise, in a hostel close to Mission Beach, in the middle of a rain forest. The hostel is very nice and relaxed, with an amazing view. Hard to describe, but the fact that some people end up staying here for weeks should tell you enough. However, for me that would be too boring. My first afternoon and evening here I have mostly just been relaxing, reading a bit, chatting to other people, etc. But the next day I also wanted to see something, so I took the shuttle bus they offer to Mission Beach, went to the beach with another Dutch girl, had a drink somewhere, made a short stroll along one of the tracks... Okay, I have to admit, and then I went back to the hostel to relax again. Tonight I'll probably go and get a bottle of wine with a British girl and then exchange some advice (she came from cairns, so we're doing the same trip the other way around basically). So that'll be fun. And then tomorrow, I'll catch the 11.05 am bus, to arrive in cairns at 1.10 pm, where Emma and Marc will pick me up to drive on to Port Douglas, the beginning of our little tour.. I'll keep you guys informed!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb