tropical


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
June 27th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fri. 23. At the foot of the cleft in the mountains as entering Townsville from the south, I stumbled on an ancient campground. It's tale was told by it's trash. Tinnies rusted near to dust. Tires. Assorted plastic wrappings. What I thought to be pine needles turned out to be the burnt out rusted out remains of steel belts. Crumbling foam remains of cussions. She was you beauty went I left mate. Stopping at petrol plaza to offload the trash, I found a sacred site, the free hot shower. Townsville. Pub. Shouldn't have taunted them - the flag opposers. They talked to the manager. He wanted to keep his regulars happy. Had me thrown out. My heart didn't even flutter. I went to the dining strip and walked with flag. Very popular.
Sat. 24. Warm at last. Floated into town and out to yots. Young couple with kids and flash boat wanted flag for cruising north! Yacht club in town - three boats got stickers. One boat with flag would stitch this place right up. Townsville big rock in center of town. Flag waved on top. Stickers much in demand.
Sun. 25. Ferry to Magnetic Island. Great piles of boulders. Walked. Before I got through Arcadia a dozen stickers went out. One on a car. Guys in moke who saw me in Airlie stopped and gave me ride to Horseshoe Bay. Craft fair going. Fabulous trumpet and sax duo played. More stickers out. Swam in shallows. Police told me not to take donations without permit. Walk six kilometers back over badly eroded track. Back in townsville went to marina for shower. Saw car of people who wanted flag. Went to their thirty meter catamaran. Wine, conversation. Hoisted flag to Advance Oz Fair. Much later went for pizza and more wine. Guitars and singing. Dave gave me key to hot shower. VERY great day and night.
Mon. 26. Quiet pleasant day Townsville. Went to Bulletin but no call.







Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1002.5kb