Red Beds


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Surfers Paradise
January 14th 2010
Published: March 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Surfers Paradise is jam packed with tourists but there is a nice beach, plenty of resturants and bars, and entertaining street performers so it's worth it to go. We stayed at the Island Hotel, where Hannah and I stayed in a girls dorm with two other Aussie girls from Sydney. As Hannah and I were slathering on sunscreen in preparation for the beach, the girls informed us that there was a ladies night going on at a club called The Bedroom that night and invited us to go. They had us at the words "ladies night". We were so sick of being with a whole group of guys 24/7 so we were down to go. It was decided we would go after dinner so Albright and I went to meet the boys at the beach. There was a lifeguard training session going on in the water which the boys seemed to be completely entranced by. This may have to do with the fact that the girl lifeguards tops kept coming off. The sand was perfect and the waves fun, but there was a strong rip which kept most of the beach off limits. After sharing a pizza for dinner in a resturant/pokie bar (pokies are slot machines), Albright and I met up with the Sydney girls. We got into The Bedroom for free because we are llayyydiiiess and then went to the bar right away for our free champagne. The Bedroom gets its name from the 3 beds against the wall and up on a platform from the dance floor I presume. There was no funny business, just groups of people sitting on the beds drinking and taking pictures. The Bedroom has a black and red theme to it, with black chandaliers painted on red walls and big white and red lights looking like popcorn balls. At the bar we got our designated glasses that we had to keep with us the whole night and were able to fill them up as much as we wanted, or were able to, seeing as the bar was crowded with drunken ladies and fellows. The bartenders were all girls dressed in scantily clad costumes that looked for a Halloween party. The music was mostly techno and electronica and I was stoked! I had missed Euro beats that I used to dance to in Swedish clubs. We danced for hours and when it was time to leave we walked into a 7-11 because I had a hankering for Doritos, as I do. I bit into one and to my horror I felt a piece of my tooth break off and crumble. "MY TOOTH JUST BROKE!" I screamed in a total state of confusion. We went back to the room and I went to bed because I was exhausted and when I woke in the morning I thought the tooth had been a dream but oh no, there was a gaping black hole in the back of my mouth. We figured it was just a filling that came out because I wasn't in any pain so I figured I would just find a dentist when we got to Melbourne again. I am always sick and injured when I travel, it's just standard.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb