Not a very exciting one...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Stanthorpe
October 18th 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

(written by Carolyn)
I just wanted to write a quick message to all our loyal followers! This is not really an "offical" update persay - no pictures or anything. We are right now in a library, where Joe just got a membership (we read a lot here, it gets dark around 6:30...and I've even started to read Harry Potter...something I swore I would never do, but Steve left 3 of the last books in the van, so I figured I might as well start, especially because I'll be able to finish all of them within a short period of time! I've just finished the first one, and it was actually pretty good. Reminded me a lot of TCS & SAC)
Anyway, I just wanted to pass along that we have now begun to work and make a bit of $! We get paid on Friday. We spent yesterday and this morning picking snow peas. Pretty easy, yet extrememely boring. My fingers are sore. It's not too hard, the peas grow on vines, so you don't have to bend or stretch. It was just the two of us picking with the farmers elderly mother. Her mixture of Italian/Australian accent was rediculously difficult to understand - we did a lot of smiling and nodding, but she was really nice, and sent us home with a huge bag of peas last night.
They don't have a lot of work at their little farm, but we are scheduled to go back Saturday morning. (you can only pick snow peas in the morning because when it gets too hot, the vines wilt) This aftenoon, we went to the "Ready Workforce" employment agency in this small town. We were set up with another farm on Friday morning, then to start there full time Monday morning. This means we'll have to say goodbye to the small farm, but I'm sure they'll survive.
That is all for now, we will try to update the fun stuff we did over the past few days tomorrow maybe, while we've got the day off!

Advertisement



18th October 2006

snow peas
Well, I have to say, I never thought I'd see the day where you'd tell me that you and Joe are out there pickin' snow peas! Whatever gets you money to keep on travelling, I think it's great! Cheers!
20th October 2006

Flashbacks to Lorraine's eh Joe! Good thing you've got some training under your belt. Carolyn, I've seen you do tedious painting without complaint so I have faith that you'll also succeed. Love you guys, our thoughts are with you.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.2kb