Middle of nowhere


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rockhampton
February 15th 2010
Published: February 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

QueenslandQueenslandQueensland

Queensland has some nice scenery along the way.
For each entry so far I’ve registered the location of where I was at the end of the night. Tonight, I have no idea where I am. I am somewhere along the 1,700 km (about 1,100 miles) stretch between Brisbane and Cairns, my next destination. As the date changes, I’m about 16 hours in with 13 more to go. This is a long ride.

I woke up early to catch this bus. Many told me it would be better to fly but I already had my ticket and the urge to see a bit more of Australia. Who knows who was right?

In any event I was up early and my laptop was still dead. Time for a new one and maybe I can retrieve files. I called my parents (the typical Monday morning call) and heard about the massive northeastern snowstrom - not missing out.

The day was mostly spent on a bus heading north. This was a long trip so we had two drivers to get us to the transition stop, then another driver. It’s that long of a trip. We stopped for junky gas station food along the way but mostly proceeded on as fast
TiresTiresTires

It also has some big tires. I can't even venture a guess as to what these might be used for.
as we could. A good part of the trip was rainy, unlike most of my Australia experience.

The trip up was very interesting for an observationist. I took notice of the lack of a proper highway system (like US interstates) almost immediately. The scattered small towns at each dropoff provided just enough reason to drive.

Low traffic volume was also noticeable, as we didn’t get held up by any construction nor an expansionary spirit. Instead I noticed the towns along the way, such as Gin Gin, Town of 1770 and Townsville. And there were many get-some-sleep signs on the way out.

Along the way, with quite a bit more time to go, I finished Fatherland. This was a phenomenal read. I encourage anyone to read it that even has the slightest interest in WWII and what could have been.

Advertisement



18th February 2010

Quarry Dump Trucks
Great town names. Those tires are like $10,000 a piece! Quarry Dump Trucks.

Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.2865s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb