Another day at the Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Redcliffe
June 21st 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I can immediately smell and almost taste the salty sea air as soon as we arrived at the beach of Redcliffe. It was a nice “not so” sunny day as the sun hides behind the clouds. The blue sky is still visible amid the clouds. The drive along the beach is really pleasant. The beach is lined with majestic pine trees, parks, playgrounds and BBQ areas. The atmosphere is very laid back. There are a group of people flying kites, some playing ball games and others simply taking a stroll along the beach.

Little Ryan indiscriminately collects any seashells he sees. After awhile, he started picking up only the nice and unique ones. It’s amazing how a two year old easily learns.

There’s huge orange X mark at the middle of the beach and wondered what it is for. Then we saw the skydiving van. Voila ! Part of the beach is reserved for skydivers. It was thrilling just to see them descend and land exactly on the mark at an incredible speed. You could almost smell the adrenalin that permeates from the parachuters as they landed. I would love to think that I’m somewhat adventurous. But in reality, you’ll never see me jump off a plane in this lifetime….even if you pay me a million. Unless it’s life and death situation - like the plane was on fire, then I’ll strap on that parachute in a sec and be the first one to jump. I am not very fond of rides at theme parks either. I went on the “Thunder Volt” rollercoaster with loops and all at DreamWorld once. After the ride, I suffered from a bad case of vertigo. I looked like as if I got snapped out of a wormhole. So I said to myself to never again ! … I promised to just ride on those kiddy ones…. Any mixture of heights, speed and feeling of free-falling scare me away. My inner child is terrified of extreme rides …. Fullstop ! However, I still have aspirations to trek mountains, go caving, skiing and scuba diving someday. At least they are safe…I think !?!? I can understand how adrenalin junkies can get hooked on extreme sports. The element of risk in extreme sports is what makes it exhilarating and liberating. Honestly ! I’d rather be on the safe side and get my thrill somewhere else….like swimming with the whaleshark in Sorsogon … maybe ?*%!?(MISSING)

There are tons of signs of Dugongs (seacows) around the place but sadly we didn’t get to see any…better luck next time ? We are definitely coming back to Redcliffe in summer. Who knows - we might even get to swim with the dugongs.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

ahhhhhhhhh !ahhhhhhhhh !
ahhhhhhhhh !

Life is good !
RedcliffeRedcliffe
Redcliffe

@ the playground
RedcliffeRedcliffe
Redcliffe

@ the playground
RedcliffeRedcliffe
Redcliffe

Look ! ... seashells !


Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 28; qc: 121; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb