Somewhere over the Rainbow


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rainbow Beach
March 26th 2006
Published: March 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rainbow beach surfRainbow beach surfRainbow beach surf

Apparantly this is good for surfing...
I find myself on another transfer to the coach station, ready for another coach journey, this time sat next to a venomous Canadian drama queen with an attitude problem. I decide that rather than making the effort to be polite to her, I'll just avoid conversation as much as possible, and this tactic seems to work.

My Journey takes me to Rainbow Beach, a small town which is becoming increasingly popular as an access point to Fraser Island thanks to its close proximity, being only a 15 minute barge trip away. Rainbow beach itself is far from picturesque, but by sheer virtue of its tiny size it is a pleasant town. The 'business centre' - a strip of about 5 cafes and about as many shops - leads you down to the beach with its perfect surf (or so I'm told). I decided to take a stroll along the beach, before checking out Archie's cafe for a cheap gourmet lunch.

In the evening was the Fraser Island Briefing - with the legendary Dingo-Safe video which tells you how to respond if threatened by one of Fraser's natives. I also got to know my team - The A-Team - by entering (and winning) the quiz with most of them. The group all seems very friendly with a real mix of characters - there should be good times ahead!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 14; qc: 86; dbt: 0.147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb