Port Douglas - The last stop along the East Coast!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
April 23rd 2014
Published: April 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

So, last stop along the East Coast - Port Douglas. 2500kms later and we have made it! I am sure you could add a few more kms on to that figure for driving around each destination as well! It has been SO tiring but absolutely worth it.

Port Douglas is beautiful, one of my favourite places along the East Coast. We arrived to a great big tropical rainstorm, so loud and relentless... I have never experienced anything like it!

During my stay here I visited Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and The Great Barrier Reef. Cape Tribulation is the only place in the world where two world heritage sights meet: the Daintree Rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef... the rainforest overspills onto the beach, very special. Cape Trilbulation was named by Captain James Cook when he discovered it, he gave it this name as he and his crew were shipwrecked here for 48 days! They did finally make it back to England however... Can you imagine? What a long boat ride! I shouldn't moan about a 23 hour plane ride to Australia really!

I discovered lots of weird and wonderful wildlife in the Daintree Rainforest, one being the Cassowary bird. The Cassowary is the third largest bird in the world and is extremely rare, I was lucky enough to see 2 and 2 chicks! Now that was hugely rare indeed! I have attached a photo of the Cassowary for you all to see as they really are very special - check out their head gear! Just a little bit of info for everyone but after the chicks have been born, mum leaves and dad rears the chicks for 2 years by himself... so the photo of a Cassowary and 2 chicks is 2 babies with their dad :-)

I hope you like all the photos I have attached for you :-)

Missing you all and looking forward to seeing you at the DBS Summer School! I hope you are all coming along!

Lots of love,

Miss Jo x


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb