The Great Barrier Reef


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
April 29th 2008
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This was a "definite" and a #1 on the list of what Tara needs to do in Australia. It is one of the natural wonders of the world and sadly enough, with the effects of global warming, pollution and other environmental issues, it is predicted that it may not exist within the next ten years. This is an extremely sad thought and will have an enormous impact on the lives of the fishies living in the underwater world, not to mention the Australian economy, since so much tourism comes from trips to see this amazing natural wonder.

I took a one-day cruise out and did 2 scuba diving trips, as well as 2 snorkel trips. The colors were beautiful, as well as the many differing kinds of fish, small and large. If you are wondering about how the scuba went this time, you are right to be concerned. First trip, I didn't have enought weights on and kept floating to the top, while at the same time trying to keep re-adjusting my eye mask so they wouldn't keep filling up with water. So, I cut that trip short and went to snorkeling. The 2nd dive I doubled my weight belt and tried smaller goggles. The weights were great, but the goggles much worse. It was still amazing as I went down to 16 meters deep into the ocean and the colorful living oceal wall of coral reef just continued with all kinds of fish swimming around me as my pals, so many different types, sizes and gorgeous varied colors. The third trip I snorkeled, which may be the way of my future😊.

I arrive back at the marina at about 4:30 and realize this is the pefect time to walk next door to my favorite happy hour spot to catch the feeding of George, the Grouper. George is a huge fish living naturally in the ocean, but this restaurant throws huge amounts of large fish out every day at the same time (what's left after the filets are cut out) and George often swims in to partake. Everyone waits and watches for this massive grouper, while the bar offers appetizer and cocktail specials. I arrive early enough to get a front row seat (a barstool overlooking the water). I sip a wine and read my yoga book while I await George's arrival. It is so cute, the family's bring
sundowner viewsundowner viewsundowner view

Watching this view, relaxing with wine and a book, I watched George the Grouper and met the fun family.
their children and the kids are cheering, "C'mon Georgie!". Georges splashes around and you don't dare look away as you could miss the moment he flops around enough to show his fins, body or his big mouth, which I saw and it is big!

As that comes to an end, I continue to enjoy my view and make friends with the nice people next to me. It is an Australian couple and the man's mother who have been here for vacation for a week and are out celebrating their last night. We talk and talk and they give me advice on what to see and do. They are starting to run late for their dinner reservation here, when I boldy speak up, "Well, if you would like to invite me, I would join you for dinner. (big warm smile on my face, trying to say, I'm fun and nice and you will really enjoy my company. )" And I didn't even have proper clothes on! Still in my swim suit from the day! (but this is a beach town and it's so laid back, which is why I'm so in heaven here to begin with 😊. They immediately say
Sunsetting over the inletSunsetting over the inletSunsetting over the inlet

Sun continues as I continue. Well, how can I leave with this view? :)
yes and we go to dinner. I know...it was kind of a lot. But I promise they were glad, as they then invited me to another place for dessert! We have a wonderful night; I learn about all new kinds of Australian sites, words and foods, such as "bugs" which are actually tiny lobsters (or large crayfish)...I would've never known to order "bugs"! The next morning they even stop by before their plane leaves to say goodbye and offer me some food they can't take with them...how wonderful! I keep saying it, but it's true...the wonderful people I meet in this world continue to amaze me and warm my heart! There is so much good in the world once you put yourself out in it! I am thankful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

We have a visitor for dinner!We have a visitor for dinner!
We have a visitor for dinner!

What beautiful birds and so talkative! But they kept calling me Henry.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb