“TSUNAMI THREAT REIGNS CHAOS SUPREME”


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
April 3rd 2007
Published: April 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

9.25am
Tsunami alert from Cairns to Cooktown.. that includes Port Douglas. An earthquake measuring 8.1 on the rector scale sends shock waves al the way from the Solomon Islands to Far north Queensland. I didn’t buy into the impending fear at all…at first. In true spirit of the commercial media, the sensationalism grew by the minute… and still I was cruising around not even believing we’d see a ripple out this way. But, five minutes before the event was supposed to effect our shores in the Port, I thought, hmm… perhaps it’d be better to be safe than sorry? (even with 30 minutes notice, I leave emergency evacuation till the last minute!) So, with all our belongings and enough food to last a few days should I get stranded somewhere out where, I skipped town to head up The Range, probably like the rest of the coast’s population. Luke’s on a train on his way back from Townsville, due back in Cairns in a handful of hours - Is the train safe? does he even know? Were the tracks close the shore? Images of Sri Lanka’s 2004 Boxing Day tsunami train damage hand in my mind… the derailed train that won the hearts of the whole world who cared. And then, a few minutes after D for designated wipe-out time, and a few more, I decided it aint happening, and instead of taking the high road through to the Tablelands,, I found myself continuing on to Cairns. So, from tsunami, to 15-30 cm expected swell, to nada - We all survived the red alert hysterics. Bar a few school receptionists I imagine. (parents apparently went crazy with ‘what are you doing to keep my baby safe??’) Of course it was the talk of the town all day in the big smoke of Cairns. And Kuranda Range was apparently jammed with the country’s escapees… And Luke was none the wiser, until I shared the tale.


We have a new home yay! Didn’t happen where we hoped however it’s all perfect and how it is meant to be I know Sharing with three other women massage therapists! Just perfect for Luke, and a wonderfully relaxed and peaceful environment… Lucky opportunity for Luke if nothing else also. Perhaps a little inspiration and confidence building too, to have hi realise his potential, own dream and possibility of being able to earn a living doing something he enjoys!

Wednesday 4th April
A SUPER profitable return from the universe, post conscious prayer from Luke on his return trip from Townsville run on the weekend. We should check back pockets of pants in op shops more often!!
The ancient mini bar fridge we’re currently relying upon, froze our fruit! Doh! Another excuse for an argument *sigh*

Thursday 5th April
Dreamed I had green tics in my skin last night, possibly due to my pre-sleep waking thoughts of parasites crawling around my body yechh!
My dream job - ice cream girl  Surprisingly, I’m really enjoying it! A little disappointed with the lack of supervisory inspiration and motivation though, this could be such a fun and ‘wicked’ environment to work in but the girls I’ve shared time with so far seem mostly vacant… or somewhere else? They don’t appear to be enjoying their work and participate in small talk of their drinking, smoking, unhealthy eating habits. Something in me - ego?- loves opportunity such as this (having serving to myself) to get it all together to show em (my employers and the customers) what I can do. I am worthy damn it - you’ll see! You’ll love me if I prove how valuable I am! How responsible I am! How unique & different I am! Strong suits thrive again. It’s never just ice-cream though. I really want to create my own food, stall of sorts, even a shop. Of course, RAW  I know it’d be just my thing, albeit hard, long, tiring work to set up and maintain. My baby is calling me!! Beginning with cakes to the local cafes, here I come! Yumm!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb