The REAL Oz Experience...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa Heads
May 17th 2006
Published: May 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello People. Last week I headed back down to Sydney to start my Oz Experience bus, which meant hanging out for a few days in Sydney which was cool, and I had a great meal in China town (remember that bit). On Thursday I over slept by half an hour missing my bus out of town. Goddamit. Luckily a nutter driver decided he could catch the bus if we jumped in his car and broke a few laws, which we did, and he was right, so I managed to get on the bus after all, which was really good.

Our first stop was in the outback, which most people hated due to the rusticness of the facilities and all that, I didnt really care as Ive stayed in some proper pits in the last few months, this place was actually quite nice! They had a local possum that had survived a fight with a Goanna (spelt wrong no doubt) As it walked in the room all the girls went "Ahhhh" followed by a quick "Oh fuck what the hell happened to that!!!" Ill get the photo up here asap so you can see why.

Then we went surfing, which was cool, im getting way better now, but thats when the sickness kicked in, and basically for the last 5 days or so Ive been in bed with a fever and all the rest of it, Ive eaten nothing, and basically been close to death for the whole week. You remember that meal in China town? Well it turns out they have given me Salmonella, bloody brilliant. Im still ill now, but I've got two weeks for the thing to go away, as the Doc recomended that I dont go to Asia if I'm still ill, which sucks arse. Im hopefully doing the Fraser Island drive this weekend, 4x4's over huge sand dunes for 3 days, which is paid for, but thats only if I feel better than I do now!

Anyway, I will hopefully be back in the UK on the 4th August, and not before, Ill keep you posted and get some more photos up here later today!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Giant PrawnGiant Prawn
Giant Prawn

This is the kind of thing they build every 500Km just to liven up the nothingness. We went to one town that was known for its brick and rolling pin throwing... how do you get known for that?


20th May 2006

Whatt I did
Last night I stayed in and watched peak practice...bloody repeat.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb