When Its Raining on Wet Sundays!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa Heads
February 25th 2007
Published: February 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey Ya'll..

I have an important and urgent announcement to make to all you goofy Canadians. I have found a place in Australia, that at first sight, I couldn't believe my eyes. I had found something so amazing that it was hard to believe. It was a gorgeous lake. Crystal blue water, amazing backdrop of scenery. But something was amiss in the picturesque scenery before my eyes. Why was this lake, that had half naked people in it swimming, surrounded by snow. I truly believed that, I had found a winter wonderland, much like home, in the middle of the worlds biggest sand island. But like most things, this idea of winter in Australia was to good to be true. The snow that I had imagined, was in actuality, SAND. The whitest sand I had ever scene.

Hahaha goofy Canadians, probably had your hopes up that I would be going through snow as well as rain in this paradise. Well sorry to break your spirits once again. I have to admit though, the 30 plus weather should have let me know that it wasnt snow.

So as you can tell from my writing, the rain has let up just enough for us to have an amazing time on Fraser Island with tonnes of sun, and contrary to Cory's comment about me being disgustly white, I am some what tan now(for me anyways). Not as tanned as Jen though (never will be..muahahhahahaha). Atleast I dont look like a Racoon.

Now Ill let ya know what we have been up to since our last blog. Well like I had said Cairns was really hot. Lotsa sweat and water was what happened in Cairns. So we left to discover the WhitSundays and Airlie Beach.

We arrived in Airlie late at night, and we got into an amazing hostel with a huge bar and it was a very good night. We had to watch our limit of alcohol intake as we were getting on a sail boat the next day, and im just a stupid prairie boy, so what do I know about boats.

We were on the SV Whitehaven sailboat. It was a big boat in my mind, but the 25 other people didn't really think so once we all got on. Our crew was made up of 2 crazy aussies, and a guy from Vancouver. He was a good guy, I learned alot about our neighbours to the west. Well the Vancouver Islands anyways. The first day on the water was actually not to bad. A couple storms and what not. The water was really rough, but to our surprise we were both having a lot of fun not throwing up. Jen did her first snorkelling on this day. Although neither of us were strong swimmers, my prior experience in Mexico (although we were still half cut and half drowning) it still helped. We saw all types of fish and was a lot of fun. We continued sailing until dark had some grub and went to bed. I really couldnt get used of the fact that my bed was moving, so I didnt sleep that well. Contrary to some beliefs, sleeping on a boat and sleeping in a waterbed are nothing alike. Anyways our second day was a little more hectic. We finally sailed our way to the world Famous WhiteHaven beach. We did a short hike to the beach and hungout for an hour or so. Of course it was cloudy and a little bit rainy, so the beach didnt look as good as it shoulda. ALthough cloudy, everyone on the boat got sunburnt. When we got back on the boat is when Jen and I had issues. Somehow we had lost our sealegs in a couple of hours and went down below deck, whered we both got very nauseus and had to sit out the next snorkelling event, although neither one of us got sick.

All in all the Whitsundays was fun, but I wouldnt be that sad if I never set foot on a bloody boat again in my life. Unless its a 10 story cruiseliner I want no part.

Unfortunately for us, our trip hit a staggering low on the way back from the harbour. As we were walking a long the esplanade we came to a group of people staring in the reeds and water. We both kinda thought it was an animal of somesort so we stopped to see what was up. I didn't realize that it was 2 paramedics and a cop in the water. A body had surfaced and floated into the area and the paramedics were pulling the body out of the water. Even worse than the body, we were embarrassed to be tourists in this beautiful country and immediately wished that we were at home so that we wouldnt have to be apart of this particular group of people. There were photos being snapped, people laughing, making comments about how kids need to stop drinking and being irresponsible. This was coming from people that were clearly spending their pensions on travelling the world. Had I been right beside them, I would have seriously been tempted to throw the camera in the water and smack the fools. RESPECT YOUR ELDERS, flashed immediately in my mind, so I watched my tongue. A police officer didnt watch his tongue, however, and rightfully lost his mind. People, for whatever reason, forget how they act at home, and become complete morons when they are in someone elses backyard.

Enough sadness for now. Luckily for us, we headed to Hervey Bay that same day, and got away from the picture in our head of the floating body, and just had the most amazing time in Fraser Island. I must admit I feel a little bit guilty for not having a religion and praying or whatever for the man, but Jen took care of that for me and Ill sort out my demons at a later date.

Fraser Island, as I previously stated is the worlds largest sand island in the world. The deal was, we get in groups of 9, load a 4x4 and camp on the island for 3 days. We had a pretty good group. 3 danish guys, Jonas, Daniel and Mads. They were a lot of fun, knew enough about hockey and real FOOTBALL for me to talk to. 3 French guys, Antony, Brian and Martin. They learned english 2 months ago, and were lazy and didnt really help much. Pleasant enough I guess if you can stand the French. (You can imagine some of my thoughts about them) And, shockingly, another Englishmen name Steve. He sounds like a FIFA announcer. AJ you know what I mean. And Yes, Jen was the only girl.

Anyways, we had an amazing time. Day 1. We went to lake Mackenzie, which was the lake I explained at the start of the blog. Night 1, we had a terrible dinner, with way to much meat. Noone listens to Jen and her shopping abilities apparantly. Later in the night, 4 Aussie guys came by and joined us. They were on the piss (booze) and were hilarious. I learned about Aussie Rules Football, and that Aussies love Canadians because, apparantly they think we are like them. Love to drink and hate immigrants. I dunno, make your own judgements, i am not saying a word. The stars were amazing, like nothing we had ever seen, especially with the sound of crashing waves.

Day 2 was started with a race against the tide to the end of the beach. We won. Those Danish can drive thats for sure. The morning was spent having an international soccer game on the beach. Denmark and Canada vs France and England. I felt bad for England. Noone could get around Jen and it was hilarous because all the frenchmen thought they were Zidane or something. I buried a goal. Jen got an assist and an own goal. Atleast she scored. And now everyone realizes that Canadians actually do know how to run and kick a round ball all at the same time.

There were plenty of Dingos on the island. They are ragged, skinny coyote looking dogs. Apparantly they are very dangerous. I kinda laughed cuz I am used of 1000 pounds bears looking to rip my head off and then these mangy mutts come strolling in. Laughable.

Later in the day we went to a place called the Champaigne pools. Actually ocean, but the waves come over some rocks and just sits there all day warming up.

Night 2 we had some amazing pasta, and sat up chatting with the Danes about pretty much everything and anything.

Day 3 we went were off early in the morning to get to a really cool lake surrounded by huge sand mountains, and filled with Cat fish. Simply Stunning. Then we headed back to Hervey Bay, where had pizza with everyone and watched a ripped Borat. That movie is soooooo funny.

And now we are in Noosa Heads. A very posh and ritzy town. $500 000 starting prices for condos. Rented condos. Beautiful nonetheless with a nice beach and Jelly fish free water.

We will be here for about a week and just chillax. Tomorrow we are off to the Australia Zoo, to pay our respects to the late, great Steve Irwin, and make sure Jen copies Trist and gets her Koala bear photo.

Unfortunately, although this hostel we are in is wicked, they do not have available usb ports and we cannot put on pictures. Internet was way better in NZ. We will try to find an internet shop and put pictures, but maybe not until further south the Gold coast. Sorry all, but we do have some intense and amazing pictures. Stay tuned.

Hope all is well, and hope Smytty doesnt get dealt.

Cheers All

Jordan and Jen

Advertisement



25th February 2007

GOOSE
Hey buddy, glad to hear everything is going well with you guys. I don't believe you got a atan I roomed with you in Mexico remember. LOL JJ. If I don't talking to you keep a keep on trucking. Love ya buddy!
25th February 2007

It sounds soooo nice there ... I am definately jelous because looking out my window there is definately no mistaking all this snow for sand. Oh well - hope the weather continues to be good!! Jen
25th February 2007

raing on Sundays
Nice touch on the title Jordan. Will get our tickets this week come hell or high water. Sorry that you guys had to see that awful scene! Jord I'm glad you held your tongue, although I can certainly understand wanting to blast someone and you know I probably would have. Jen how is the "CANDY" situation? Imagine having to eat meat for supper instead of gummy bears! maybe you will come back over your sugar addiction! Oh ya... smart ass Kid of mine... you too are a "goofy Canadian" and don't you forget it! I someday would love to see that snow beach! (but not the spiders) 42 sleeps! take care be safe luv ya
25th February 2007

I love all the slang you're picking up. Peaks, I miss getting drunk with you. Jen, I miss looking at you. The Oilers aren't going to make the playoffs, so you may as well hop on the Flames bandwagon now.
26th February 2007

Finally!
glad to finally get a blog that I could open, something weird was going on. (or maybe it's just me and my lack of computer skills) but I'd rather blame it on someone and something else :-p your experiences sound amazing!!! I've always wanted to see a dingo so I could say "the dingo ate my baby" take care you two............
27th February 2007

The Mourning Wood!
I thought that the title would take you back to English class in grade 12 with Z thought of the day, haha. It is good to hear that things are going so well. You know that I am a slow reader so why do you write so much, "I ain't got that kinda time". I wish that I could have been there with you to see those stars. By the way I think that Watt's comment privileges should be taken away with his Flames bandwagon garbage. Take Care, "what can say I'm not a talker"

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb