A long mile day, Thieves in the night, Queensland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mooloolah
February 25th 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Days 13 => 25: Woolgoolga (17miles to; days 13-17, weather), Evans Head (74 miles), Balina (21 miles), Byron Bay (21 miles), Kingscliff (28 miles), Jumpinpin (41 miles), Moreton Island (32 miles), Woorim (25 miles), Mooloolaba (31 miles)

The above stops covers a lot of different territory, I'll try to summarize.

As mentioned in the last post, I was weather delayed in Woolgoolga a total of 5 days. A strong low was centered off Coffs Harbor (17 miles south). As soon as it finally moved on, there was another low, much weaker moving in. I decided to go - when opportunity knocks - the south wind was mild, though helpful, however, combined with the wind - there was a fairly strong current heading north - generated from the previous days strong southerlies. At first I thought I would have a good 50 mile day by stopping in Yamba, but, on arriving there early in the afternoon - I was not yet tired, so I went another 24 into Evans Head.
In Evans Head, I arrive late, so I crashed immediately, after putting away gear and such. I woke for a 6am start to find my WATER stolen. Of all the things to take - my freakin water. Luckily I carry spare water bags (MSR drom's) and filled them at the next stop. Well, of the 4 trips I've done along this coast, this was the first theft I've encountered. NOTE to FSKA folk: I'll take this kind of thief to the kind AJ encountered on his Amazon journey.
I'm still looking for another spare drom. bag, maybe in Noosa (next stop).

The Balina bar has a bit of a reputation for difficulty. On arriving, with a good southerly swell, I examined where everything was breaking - for the following morning, when I would be leaving in the dark. The following morning, as I was heading out the jetty, conditions were much calmer - so I didn't take the 'long route' around that I scouted the day before. Instead, I cut right out on the north jetty. Immediately I was into the 'surf zone' for the beach north of the river. I easily manoevered the 1st sets of breaking waves, however, the last one I had to get around broke right on me. It 'swallowed' me. While I was broaching for several seconds - I was underwater (foam over) - usually when broaching - you're riding on top. Anyway - I got my bath for the day.

Entering Queensland:
Speaking of getting wet, a few days later - working the Jumpinpin bar (between North & South Stradbroke islands (near Brisbane), the bar was covered with masses of breaking waves. They were not large, so I didn't have much trouble with them, but one, with particular 'energy' did grab me and flip me (I underestimated it's strength). I easily rolled back up with it's force (though instinctive - I don't think this is the best thing to do - normally I'll stay under while the force of the breaking wave passes - then roll up).

From Balina, I've started noticing the N-S tidal current. South of Shoalwater Bay it flows N on the ebb (and vice versa). North of S.B. - just the opposite. This comes in very handy when planning when to leave for the day.
However - I guess there are exceptions -
I landed in Woorim (south on Bribie Island) after crossing from Moreton Island.
In order to take full advantage of the strong ebb current out of Moreton Bay - I left on the 9pm (just after high) tide. However - an easterly was blowing - which, after about an hour or 2 turned into a fairly strong NE, which slowed me down quite a bit.

So here I am in Moolooliba (part of what they call the 'Sunshine Coast' as well as tomorrows stop: Noosa)

Noosa is only about 25 miles, but beyond it is one large bight - approaching Wide Bay - the beginning of a ride (ride the flood the 1st 25 miles, ride the ebb the 2nd 25 miles) in to Hervey Bay between Fraser Island and the mainland.

Sea turtles, fewer bluebottles, dolphins 'dancing' around the kayak, and crows that won't let me get to sleep (very noisy creatures - the Ozzy variety of Crow).

Forgot the camera, I'll try to remember next time.


Advertisement



25th February 2009

are you having fun yet?
Hey Andy. Good reading about your adventure thus far. Many in the FSKA are reading and enjoying the funny pics (of you no less). Quite impressed with your knowledge of the tides and currents, but then, prior preparation always prevents poor performance, right? Question, was the water thief a two, three or four legged creatue? Take care, Greg Florida Sea Kayaking Association
27th February 2009

Now we know
Andy, now we know who ripped you off - it was them 'crows'! They have taken a 'liken' to water bags especially black drom's Your trip sounds very interesting - really look forward to your reports and enjoy reading about your adventures. Travel safe my friend
1st March 2009

Water Thief
Hi Greg, You guys should be getting into pretty good weather about this time. The thief: I'm sure it was a 2 legged variety. There's a little more to the story: Again, it was late and I was dog tired. I had put everything 'away' as I normally do (cover my gear bags, valuables in tent with me, cockpit cover). The only thing left out was a mesh gear bag, handles at the ready for a quick in, quick out burgler. The gear bag was used to carry my water bags. I'm sure the sucker got home expecting a pot of gold, or some such, and discovered he was lugging several pounds of water (and I'm sure he won't realize the value of the MSR drom bags). Andy

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb