Skydive Special - Mission Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mission Beach
May 19th 2007
Published: May 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I thought I'd add a seperate blog for Mission Beach as I'm hoping that when I find the right computer I can upload my dvd footage, so keep a look out on the next blogs as I'll keep you posted!

Well from Townsville we went to Mission Beach, we did want to see it but our main reason for stopping was to do a skydive. This wasn't my idea, it was Luc's! I have to say that even the thought of doing it made my stomach churn and I wasn't overkeen on doing it but I knew that Luc would come down and I'd end up wanting to do it!

On our first day we chilled out at our hostel the beach shack. This place was really cool, it was a big house next to the beach. It had its own little pool, an oven, a no shoe policy and instead of a key deposit a behaviour deposit! It was small and nice and cosey. Mission beach was really pretty aswell! It had palm trees on the beach and we found a coconut which after a rather long hunt for the chopping machine a passerby told us about that we could not find at all we managed to husk it (with our brute muscles of course) on a spear outside our hostel. It all felt very tropical at the time.

The next day was our skydive and I was feeling pretty nervous, we had all afternoon to get ourselves geared up for it and I definately managed that one! I think the scariest bit was getting suited up and getting in the plane! you'll see the terror in my dvd, especially when he tells me its only 5000ft and my face drops! I was clinging on to the pole in the plane so tight when it was time to go the tandem had to release my arm. Of course, although I was the most nervous I was the last one out so I got to see them all go. It was so quick though that you don't get much time to think about it and before you know it your sitting on the step of a 14000ft drop with your feet dangling in the air and then its JUMP! You get no choice luckily. The 60 second freefall was so fun! I can't really explain it, your stomach doesnt really go and after a couple of seconds you can take in the views of the beach and the sea, it was amazing!! On the parachute bit you get to calm down and properly look around, I got to see a small turtle and land on the beach! I'm really glad I did it in the end and I can actually say I would be tempted to do it again when we get to New Zealand, I think I'd be able to take more in then as I know whats coming.

P.S. Just a note to readers! I've messed up the dates and order and I don't have the memory or my diary to correct it at the moment, it'll be sorted soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb