Yes, I did it AGAIN!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mission Beach
July 3rd 2005
Published: July 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Skydiving is amazing!Skydiving is amazing!Skydiving is amazing!

It's not me in the picture because I didn't buy pictures this time, but it's the same parachute and same instructor, so almost as good souvenir
It's addictive... It's was so much fun... I just had to do it again. I don't like the sea so much so I don't go diving - I do like the sky so I go SKYDIVING!!!

The whole day was really great. I chose to skydive in the town of Mission Beach, 2 hours away from Cairns - for the same price of skydiving here you get better views plus a trip in the beautiful tropical north of Queensland. The drive was really lovely. Mission Beach is a most beautiful place, with the forest going almost to the sea, leaving a narrow gold sandy beach, there are islands all around, it's a magical place.

We also got another bonus on the way - they had to drop off someone at Dunk island, just off shore, so we got a 10 minutes low altitude scenic flight on the way. I wished I had my camera, the view was simply gorgeous.

And then there was the jump, of course. The plane started going up and at the altitude of 10,000 ft we dropped Jan with her instructor. In NZ I jumped first so I never go to see how they disappear when they jump, it was exciting to see it this time. Marina the Italian birthday girl panicked when she saw Jan jumping and started shouting "Mama Mia, Oh my God"... she created an atmosphere for all of us... I was so calm, I think my instructor Ralf was worried about me :-)
So we went up more and more and reaching 14,000 ft they all jumped and then it was my turn. At the last second, sitting at the door, this time with no clouds so the ground is visible and so far away, I have this quick thought "oh my god this is crazy" but then we are already falling, this amazing feeling of free fall once again. The wind is slapping my face - maybe in the first time I was too excited to notice - but still I just don't want it to end.
Supposedly it was 1 minute of free fall, I have no idea as it seemed too short as always when you're having fun, and then Ralf opened the parachute and we went down slowly with this amazing scenery below us, the sea and the forest and the beach and the islands, 5 breath-taking minutes and not because of fear, just because you can't stop admiring what's around you.

And then the whole day you just can't stop smiling...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 81; dbt: 0.115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb