What a mission in Mission Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mission Beach
December 18th 2006
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

A bugs lifeA bugs lifeA bugs life

The Treehouse was full with bugs and grashoppers... They even Enjoyed Dan Brown. But I think it was to much for the Rhino bug. :-)
Hi,
I spent a couple days in the "Treehouse" a backpackers hostel neat Mission Beach. Right on the first day I met Jochen from Alt Wallmoden (Germany). We went on hiking directly. I can tell you hiking in Australia is much more exhausting than in Europe - its hotter, more humide and ... more insects. But its very interesting to see the local Flora and Fauna.
So what can you do in Mission Beach... For sure you cant go swimming its Stinger Season (Quallen) That means you either swim behind a stinger net or wear a sexy stinger suite. Its a full body nylon suite... very tight.
But you can go diving... sky diving. Vesna (Melbourne) did it here - so I thought give it a try.
Skydiving isnt such an Adrenalin rush as exspected - but its an incredibly unreal feeling. But I try to share my emotions as close as possible with you. So do the following: Set a powerfull fan (app 200km/h windspeed) next to your screen and zoom into google earth very quickly. Thats about how it feels.
I jumped from 14'000 feet, which gave me about 60sec. of Freefall-Google-zoom

The next day I went on Dunk Island by the water taxi. On the Island you can do some lovely bushwalks. I drunk some self harvested Coconut juice on the Coconut Beach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The Treehouse was so relaxingThe Treehouse was so relaxing
The Treehouse was so relaxing

It has a nice community area where everyone can put their music on the stereo, play a game or just hang around
Mart from HollandMart from Holland
Mart from Holland

Mart (like K-Mart) as he introduced himself is a very funny guy. A little bit of the hook (verpeilt) but nice.
The view out of the hammockThe view out of the hammock
The view out of the hammock

Right next to the pool were a couple hammocks (Haengematte)... ahh it was so nice.
The TreehouseThe Treehouse
The Treehouse

The place itself was perfect. But a litle bit far away to next store.
Dunk Island - Coconut BeachDunk Island - Coconut Beach
Dunk Island - Coconut Beach

It took me while to get a Coconut down, but with the help of my swiss army knife I could enjoy the fresh juice.
Dunk Island - Coconut BeachDunk Island - Coconut Beach
Dunk Island - Coconut Beach

I just love to jump ...
Dunk Island - Water TaxiDunk Island - Water Taxi
Dunk Island - Water Taxi

It's called Water Taxi, because you have to walk through the water to get there.


Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 26; qc: 101; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb