learn to dive in five days


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
December 16th 2006
Published: December 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi my friends,
I just came back yesterday from a 3 day boat trip with a diving school. Almost everyone is doing a diving course in Cairns... so I thought why not try it. The course started on Monday with theory lessons and Pool training. And of course some quick multiple choise tests.
I can advice everyone who wants to learn something new and who is physically and psycologically capable of diving, to do it.
The PADI degree is quite easy to achieve without beeing a brainiac. The course is well built up.

After two days on the boat, they offered us to do on top of the regular PADI open Water license, the Adventure course. Despite to the first step which allows you only to dive up to 18m deep, with the Adventure course you're trained to dive up to 30m. The 30m is a critical depth, because at this depth nitrogen narcosis starts.
It makes you think very slow and sometimes you behave silly.

The night dive was also a high light. In the beginning I felt like in some strange movie, but at the end it was really awsome. Oscar prepared us with some nice stories
my dive buddiesmy dive buddiesmy dive buddies

Always dive with a buddy!
about last minute maneuvers in case of a shark attack... Everyone of his plans ended with us beeing fish food..LOL

On board I met nice people and it was great fun beeing on the trip. Almost everyone seemed to have a merry time. Except maybe two poor dudes who became sick and therefore were not able to dive.

Today, one day after the last dive I still have a funny feeling in my ears. I think they are just a little bit irritated. And espeacially yesterday night in the pub I felt like I am still floating in the sea... I wonder why?... LOL

Enjoy the pictures and come back to my blog.
CU Stefan


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Sea turtleSea turtle
Sea turtle

We saw a couple sea turtles. The biggest one was about 1.5m long.
Underwater Impressions 03Underwater Impressions 03
Underwater Impressions 03

Corals colours are faint.
Underwater Impressions 05Underwater Impressions 05
Underwater Impressions 05

We also saw a couple sharks. During the night dive we saw a big fellow. I'd give him 2-2,5 m.
Underwater Impressions 06Underwater Impressions 06
Underwater Impressions 06

Buddy shot. Guess who I am?
Underwater Impressions 08Underwater Impressions 08
Underwater Impressions 08

And a tiny Stingray.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb