The Wonderful World of Aussie!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Maroochydore
August 13th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My first day in Australia!

I got to the Brisbane airport around 7AM on Wednesday after leaving LA at 11:45PM Monday for a 13 hour flight...which I could only sleep about an hour because I was too excited! It's so weird thinking that for me there was no August 12th! It took me about 3 days to get over my jet lag, it was very strange being 15 hours ahead!

Chris meet me at the airport and we took a shuttle to his apartments located about a 5 min. walk away from his campus in Sippy Downs. The shuttle ride was an hour and a half but I had a blast looking at all the scenery...I LOVED all the palm trees....and riding on the wrong side of the road. That I never got over.

When we finally got to the apartments and I got a little settled in and showered....wonderful after such a long traveling time!! I went from Des Moines to Minneapolis to LA to Brisbane....Chris showed me around his campus. In order to get there we have to walk on a path across a somewhat swampy open field I soon found out were filled with wild
On the shuttleOn the shuttleOn the shuttle

I'm finally here!
KANGAROOS!! I of course had to take a million pictures with them. I figured I'd eventually stop being so excited everytime I saw them since we always had to walk by them to get to the bus stop, but I never could get over how many there were wandering about wherever they pleased. One day we had about 10 take off and cross the path a little ways in front of us. I loved watching how they use their tails to walk around and how fast and far they can bound. The group had an alpha male that everyone on campus had named Steve. He was very impressive.

After the tour and meeting a few people we spent the rest of the night relaxing and I ended up going to bed around 7PM which was 4AM in Ottumwa. I was exhausted! But very excited to be in the land down under!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Aussie 004Aussie 004
Aussie 004

A purple swamphen! they were running around all over the place
Aussie 005Aussie 005
Aussie 005

my first time seeing wild Kangaroos!
Aussie 009Aussie 009
Aussie 009

me with the roos!
Aussie 010Aussie 010
Aussie 010

us with them!
Aussie 012Aussie 012
Aussie 012

weird plant near campus
Aussie 014Aussie 014
Aussie 014

A palm tree walkway!
Aussie 015Aussie 015
Aussie 015

Chris and his school
Aussie 016Aussie 016
Aussie 016

a really skinny strange looking bird
Aussie 017Aussie 017
Aussie 017

more of the University of the Sunshine Coast


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb