Christmas Eve already!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Maroochydore
December 24th 2006
Published: December 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So much for keeping this up to date! I'm writing this from the glorious Sunshine Coast after spending the day drinking champagne in the sun in and out of the pool. I'm loving this warm Christmas business!
The last week has been fabulous. I spent the weekend and following days in Sydney at glorious Manly Beach with Lisa (sister) and Andrea (friend from NY). Waking up to the surf crashing on the beach was pretty special. We even ventured out for a few runs and a rather daring adventure in a playground. Staggering back to our room after a close encounter with a dizzy wizzy we headed up to Winda Woppa (near Port Stephens) for the night. We visited the most amazing sand dunes that were the size of buildings - great fun to boogy board down, not so much fun to run up but it was fantastic fun. Andrea and I tried out a roly poly race down a rather steep sand dune which turned out to be a bad idea for a number of reasons, not the least being the amount of sand that has managed to find its way into everywhere. My ears (inner, middle and outer) will never be the same again... the rest of the visit was spent relaxing (as that's the only thing we could really do to be honest...)
I arrived in Brisbane earlier this week and spent some time with the fabulous Davey Poo Pants and family on Kangaroo Point. Mum joined me and we spent some time walking along the river, shopping and enjoying wine on the balcony of our fabulous flat. Davey took me to the "best steak restaurant in Australia" and it did not disappoint. If you get the chance to taste Wagyu (sp?) beef (reared on grain in the Darling Downs), do so - it was great. We caught the very convenient ferry home and I can tell why people love the Brisbane lifestyle.
No time to think too much about that. Mum and I were on the train the next morning to Lanesborough - one stop up from the famous Australia Zoo (so excited about going there after Christmas!!) and at my Aunt Judy and Uncle Dicky's lovely home on Kawana Island, right on the canals. Today we had our relatives from Zim over so much drinking was to be had as well as the amazing discovery of an Esky on wheels. Sorry for you South Africans and Kiwis: Coola box or chilly bin. Fantastic!! You can easily transport a case of beer (and a few bottles of champagne) and still carry a beer in your hand. Only in Australia.
That's about all I have time for. My champagne is getting warm but thought I must make some time to keep this up to date while I still remember.
I hope all is well and happy and everyone, wherever you are, is looking forward to a fabulous Christmas Day!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb