Day 13 - Mackay Airport


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Makay
June 15th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

300 kms round trip to Mackay to pick up a mate from the airport who has come over from WA to stay on Hamilton Island for a few days ... Had thought of staying over there too, but at $768 for a three night room, I reckon that Airlie is the place to be..

Mackay is a real “mining” town, servicing the local coal industry, along with a modern shipyard, although still has a lot to offer the tourist. Should be well used to the trip as I return to the airport on Friday and back again to collect Mia on Monday. I am so excited about Mia arriving, and it looks like there will be plenty of work here for her.

The more time I am spending in the Whitsundays’ the more I have the notion to hang around for awhile.

I am finding lots to do helping out Jas & Jo at Banjo’s Bar & Bistro .. although the guys have got a great team in place, so I just do some odd jobs. Walking into the place in the morning, I already feel part of the team with lots of G’Days and smiles.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb