Airlie Beach, Whitsundays, Magnetic Island & Mission Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Magnetic Island
February 1st 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rain clouds!Rain clouds!Rain clouds!

Me at the top of the fort getting closer to those rain clouds! ;-)
What a wet and tough week I have just had! Yep, it does rain in Australia and I think i started missing home for the first time since I've been away... damn weather!

Since I last wrote I have travelled up to Airlie Beach and went on a 3 day Whitsunday trip, which ended up being a complete nightmare and turned into a very very wet Sunday, Monday and Tuesday trip!

Unfortunately we were hit by a cyclone and let me tell you that it isn't fun when you're on land and you get hit... let alone when you're sailing in a 67ft catamaran across some serious rough sea!

I spent another night in Airlie beach when I got back from the boat trip from hell, which was again wet but it's a cute little town and a place where backpackers seem to make up 75% of the population, which means there is always a party going on even in the rain! ;-)

I then moved onto Townsville on my way to the beautiful magnetic Island, which again was in the middle of the cyclone so it meant more rain! Once I dried off i managed to
Kangaroo with baby!Kangaroo with baby!Kangaroo with baby!

Wild Kangaroos on Magnetic Island!
hire a 4x4 with two Italians (Roberto & Silvia) that i met back in Airlie Beach and we drove across the Island and managed to help fishermen put baby fish back into the sea, which was a great feeling and we also managed to see some wild Kangaroos & Koalas on the walk up to the old forte, which was built back in WWII.

Finally the weather changed as I left Magnetic Island and headed up to Mission beach where i stayed in the nicest hostel so far, which had a huge swimming pool/spa outside my room... yep all for $22 per night! From here I booked my white water rafting trip down the river Tully, which was amazing as the sun was out for the first time in 9 days and it was just picture perfect!

I can't believe that my next stop is Cairns already! It's been an amazing 6/7 weeks in Australia, which I've loved and sometimes struggled to cope with but it feels good to think that I'm one stop away from the finish line even though it means the end of a wonderful trip! I've slightly over spent on my original budget, which
Can you see the Koala?Can you see the Koala?Can you see the Koala?

Wild Koala on Magnetic Island!
isn't surprising as prices in Australia are a lot higher than I had anticipated but then again it probably has something to do with the Australian dollar being so strong against the pound (2.15 to 1),

Nothing more to report except that my tan has seriously faded due to the weather, so I'm hoping that I can find the sun this week otherwise I'll need to find a sunbed just to prove that I've been away in a warm country! ;-)

I hope everyone is well and thank you to all of you who have emailed me. I'm sorry if i haven't replied to all your emails but it's been a hectic schedule that I've been on for the past 10 days and I don't always have time to reply but I hope my journals keep you all informed and answer any questions! ;-)

Take care and keep on emailing me!

Love,

Paulo
x


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Finally some sun!Finally some sun!
Finally some sun!

What Magnetic Island looks like in the sun!
White water rafting!White water rafting!
White water rafting!

Cruising down the river!
White water rafting!White water rafting!
White water rafting!

Rapid Cruising down the river!
White water rafting!White water rafting!
White water rafting!

My white water rafting team!


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb