Magnetic Island


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Magnetic Island
April 26th 2008
Published: April 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tue 15th April

Today I caught the 6:15 am bus to Townsville, which was so not the plan but as I left it to the last minute to book onto the bus it figures why had to get the stupid o clock one! Got the ferry straight over to Magnetic Island. First stop was Horeshoe Bay for a bit of a sunbathe but I caught paranoid a coconut was gonna fall on me head so had to spend a considerable amount of time judging where the position might be. Had to swim in the netted area of the sea as it's stinger season and the sea here wasn't clear, which was just no good for the nerves (yes that's my imagination going crazy again, but it doesn't help that they had big tubes running along the bottom for some reason). Did a walk called the Forts Walk where I had great fun amusing myself with the camera timer, the first sign at the start of the walk though was to be careful of the death adders (does exactly what it says on the tin I do believe), uh-oh! Fortunately no death adders to be seen this time, did see some little winged bats in one of the old war bunks but once again my imagination succeeds in scaring me off as I think of the film "I am Legend", yep these bunkers were pitch black so who knows what could be lurking around the corner. Had to walk back to the hostel through a jungle of a pathway, oh how I feared for my poor little exposed feet and legs, there was just no turning back though, either was just as scary, was like a second rendition of my episode in the sand dunes expect this time there was no one to drag me through!! Saw my first wild possum that night, just trotting about the hostel, so cute!

Wed 16th April

Got up early again today at 7 (this is most unlike me), went for a chocolate muffin brekkie on the seafront, swinging on a swing, watching people set up shop whilst all the time keeping a beady little eye on the ever nearing pesky seagulls. Saw a kookaburra slapping some kind of fish or slug against a tree before gulping it down, what a way to go! Then I chilled in a hammock for an hour
Gun PostGun PostGun Post

Me pretending to be a gun in the war, could you tell!
or so (checked it for creatures first and thankfully made it in on my first attempt, phew) before going on a tour of the koala sanctuary. Here I got to hold a coastal carpet boa called Sarge, a blue-tongued skink called stumpy, a black cockatoo called shadow, another croc (not quite so impressive as Africa though as there was no danger of him biting me, had his mouth taped), and Dexter the koala. I also licked, yes that's right, licked a green ant's bum, you can eat them but I wasn't going that far, was also offered a rhinoceros beetle larvae, no thank you, I've seen the reactions on "I'm a celebrity, get me out of here", and they're offered fame and money for to do it, what was my incentive! Went on a bush and beach ride in the afternoon. I rode Clyde, an 18 hand horse, oh I, that's right give the smallest of the group the biggest horse, how strange it was to be the tallest of the bunch, lazy horse though, didn't half like to take it easy. As I was on the tallest horse it also turned out I was the only one who couldn't dodge the cobweb, was like a proper strong stretch of elastic which only makes me think there must have been a darn big spider lurking about somewhere! We rode them along the beach and then took them bare back riding for a swim in the sea where we did some horse surfing. Rawhide was definately true that evening, slightly sore!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

MeditationMeditation
Meditation

More fun with the camera timer...
Drop Bear!Drop Bear!
Drop Bear!

I was fooled into believing they existed!
Sarge!Sarge!
Sarge!

The coastal carpet boa
ShadowShadow
Shadow

Pucker up!
Little SnapperLittle Snapper
Little Snapper

Or not as the case may be!
ClydeClyde
Clyde

That's not my normal everyday attire by the way, it's a stinger suit to stop the jellies getting me.


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb