Game On by Aiden


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Kuranda
August 22nd 2010
Published: September 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

When I got back to school Mr Cav was starting preparing for Sports Day. The only one I missed practicing for was shotput. I got really fit because we practiced lots at school and I did two afternoons of afterschool sport, soccer training one day, circus one day and swimming at least one day a week. One of the best things I’ve done since we got back was landing a forward flip at circus. Now I’m going to practice backflips!

We had sports carnival and I came second in 800m and 4th in 100m. It meant I would be going to Barron River, interschool carnival. At Barron River sports carnival I came 8th out of 18 kids and in 100m I came 4th out of 9 kids. Then at the end of the day they picked me, Zane, Indy and Sam for a relay team. We came first and actually ran in the 11 year olds race so we were younger than the others. Our school got the Average Trophy. It means we scored the most points on the day. We only had 33 kids from our school in our sports team. Some schools had more than 200!

We had bookweek at school. I dressed up as The Nothing from the Neverending story. I’ve been reading Children of the Lamp series. It’s very good. It’s about India and genies. We went on a school excursion to the Indigenous Art Fair. It was first in best dressed with the notes. There was only me and two others from the primary school and they were both from our class! The rest were high schoolers. We went on a bus to the Tanks near the Botanical Gardens. My favourite picture was called Crocodile Eyes. It was mostly greeny brown and there were some red dots, like crocodile eyes shining through. Aunty Ruthy would have loved it!

Cairns Festival is on. We went to see the parade and then when we got a program I looked in it and chose a play to watch. It was The Series of Unfortunate Events. It was performed by some kids in a kids theatre. We sat on beanbags to watch it! My favourite character was the inventor, he was the littlest one in the show. Even though it’s a dark series, they didn’t really focus on the dark bits. We went with Ori and Edi. They’re my friends. We’ve been having some fun sleepovers at their place. They have a good backyard. We get to stay in their caravan. Their Mum makes great food and she is from Israel. After we've been playing with Edin and Ori Cal likes to pretend we're going to Israel. One day he was taking too long and I said "I'm sailing for Israel". He said, "Doesn't matter, I'll swim out to the boat". I said "What about the sharks??!!" Cal said "Doesn't matter, they are my friends!" Edin and Ori's Dad makes the best pita bread in the world!! Mum bought me Skullduggery Pleasant number 5 but I’m saving it till we leave, when it’s time to catch a plane.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb