Just like living in paradise


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hamilton Island
March 3rd 2009
Published: March 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Its been a while so get yourself comfy...

Am I glad I got up early for the arrival into Sydney Harbour! Wow!. The alarm was set for 5am and I was up on deck by 5.30 just as the lights of the opera house came into view. Its very dark and errie as we sail in silently.

I took endless photos as the night turned into day and sat up on deck for nearly 2 hours just taking it all in. It all seemed very familiar, having seen so many photos and films of this iconic sight but to actually be here was mind-blowing.

Although not everyone was as impressed as me... I was constantly amused by people walking past and asking thwy're partner what that white building was - I guess they must have missed that episode of Wickers World which is where all my memories stem!

The taxi to the hotel was straight forward and as it was so early, I stored my bag and headed out to explore the city. I grab some breakfast at a cafe in Hyde Park (honest) and watch the ibis swoop and soar. Armed with a map, my plan was to head straight back down to circular quay and spend some time in the harbour - sadly my map reading skills deserted me and I ended up walking through chinatown to Darling Harbour. The guide book rates this as Sydney's biggest eyesore - but I thought it was nice... it obviously lacks the famouse skyline, but there was enough character there to make it a buzzing place to hang out. Certainly, for early in the morning there were lots of people there. Anyway, I got myself the obligatory tourist hop on-hop off bus ticket and began my tour of Sydney.

Only a few stops along and I was back at circular quay - so I hopped off and wandered to the opera house. I'd heard on the radio that today was to be a National Day of Mourning for the victims of the bushfires - and at 11am there was to be a 2 minute silence. My arrival at the opera house steps coincides with this and I joined the Sydney-siders and watched the remembrance ceremony on a big screen. The service was very moving and there were TV cameras everywhere reporting the crowd reactions. It was a very special experience and one that I will remember forever. (Notwithstanding the fact that later that night I saw myself on Sky News!)

After the service I hopped back on the bus and completed the tour of the Domain, the Rocks and also crossed Sydney Harbour Bridge. I hopped off back at darling Harbour and cooled off by sitting with my feet in one of the water features and watched some street performers (I couldn't look at the sword swallowing juggler for long... euch). Its really quite hot and I need to cool off so I head to the Aquarium - it was highly recommended in all the guide books so I give it a whirl.

The $29 entry was well worth it - the highlight was walking through the many underwater tunnels watching sharks, sea turtles, sea cows and huge rays swimming all around. I also saw a massive salt-water crocodile, jellyfish, starfish, sea horses and sea dragons. I spent a good couple of hours there and then headed back to the hotel.

My room is nice - big bed - clean bathroom and a kitchenette with microwave. After testing the powershower I head out to grab some dinner. I am craving curry and I find just the place on Oxford Street (I am not making this up, honest) called the Tandoori Grill. I wasn't disappointed, the Lamb Passanda (my usual) was seriously good and I left fully satisfied (and with a doggy bag for tomorrow!). Walking back along Oxford Street, you can clearly see the aftermath of the Gay/Lesbian Mardi Gras that took place here over the weekend - there are quite a few partygoers still going strong.. its a good atmosphere, reminds me of living in Brighton.

Monday, 23rd Feb was the day I hit Bondi Beach. The bus was full and I was stuck in from of the most annoying couple in history (and I've met quite a few of them on this trip so far) - she spoke with such a shrill, drawling voice it took a lot of deep breathes and focus of Bhuddist teachings not to jump off the bus and catch another one. I managed to endure the torture and got off at one of the many coastal headlands and took a walk along the clifftop. This spot is famed for its many suicides - I certainly didn't feel the need to high dive off the top if only to avoid the $500 fine for walking beyond the fencing! It was stunningly dramatic view and with the crashio=ng waves hitting the rocks below I can certainly see why Cpt. Cook named this part of the world New South Wales.

Next stop was Bondi beach... I love it! I head straight to the sand and find myself a spot next to an elderly couple in deck chairs (easy to spot when trying to locate my things later!) The water is cool, but within a minute or two feels warm. I follow the rules of the beach and enter the water between the flags and join the other hundred other 'swimmers' in the battle to remain upright. To say it was not exactly flat would be accurate, to say it was loads more fun than that also be true. It was amazing. The big waves just kept rolling in - the current was nothing I'd ever expereinced before - in the shallows when the waves were receding my feet fely like they were being sucked into the sand by a giant vaccumm cleaner. No wonder the Aussies are so fit... going for a paddle is a full legs, bums and tums workout! You have to use all your muscles to stop from falling over when a wave hits you and I didn't do too well at first.

The first time I had a wobble and lost my balance I remember thinking 'just go with it Mandy' however after ending up on the beach with seawater in my eyes and sand grazes on my knees I became more determined not to 'go' with anything!

It was so much fun - even falling over became easier to cope with. I developed a doggy-paddle technique that kept my head above the water which at least allowed my to apologise to those still standing that I torpedoed into!

The next installment will have to wait as this PC keeps crashing and its more annoying than that woman on the bus...

I'm gonna go jump in the pool!

M x









Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb