Day 4... Fencing and chainsaws


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gympie
October 16th 2008
Published: October 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello again everyone,

Before I begin, it has been brought to my attention that I may have scared a few people (namely my mother) in my blog yesterday. Sorry mum 😊 I am bruised, infact my entire left breast down to my left bottom rib is covered in the blackest bruise I have ever seen. There are photos of it to prove this 😊 which hopefully will be up here soon...HOWEVER mummy, I am fine, and this place is damn unreal!

So anyway, I got given a job last night. I phoned up a lady called Leanne at Phenros Station in Julia Creek, Queensland. She seemed pretty great and her farm sounded great as well as the en suite, air conditioned room ill get (hehe), theres about 20 other people working on the farm, including an english girl by the name of Hannah who did outbackpackers 2 weeks ago. My job entails general station duties, yard work, taking care of the horses and stallion, caring for cattle and mustering the cattle on horseback... sounded wicked so I took the job and asked if there was anything she wanted to know about me... in fantastic Australian humour she replied 'just bring your cheery disposition mate!' ....excellent, I shall do just that! I did however find it very hard not to speak in an Australian accent when I was on the phone haha, highly embarassing 😊 So basically, I leave here on Saturday, catch a plane up to Townsville and stay the night in a Youth Hostel there, then catch a bus and get picked up by my employer in Julia Creek. Apparently this place is ALOT hotter than where I am now (although im not sure thats possible!) and its about 100,000 acre farm, which apparently is small....righty ho!

So anyway, youll be pleased to hear today went without injury. We played with some chainsaws for a while, cut up some trees etc and then went and built some fences. Not the most exciting of days but stuff that had to be learned. Tomorrow is the day I have been looking forward to most... mustering on horseback, and cattle work including branding, tagging and injections, should be spigging awesome!

I love you all, and miss you lots, but please dont worry about me! Im having the time of my life! I hope you are all good and keeping well in England.... hopefully will talk to you properly when I get to somewhere with signal!

Lots and lots of love from a happy little Hayley xxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb