The Countdown Is On!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast
May 30th 2007
Published: May 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Garage Sale 1Garage Sale 1Garage Sale 1

Mountains of 'stuff' in our double garage
Well, it's 7 weeks and counting until we go to Cambodia! And I have so much to do before I go! Why is it that the more you prepare the less you feel prepared? Anyway, our target for the raising of funds to help us get to Cambodia and to provide resources for the children and counsellors is going well. We aimed to raise around $7,500 and to date we have raised about $6,500. God is so good to us! Must say that fundraising is a lot of hard work, and is difficult to do when you are juggling two jobs and studying...

How did the garage sale go? Well, so much for me saying on one of my last entries that i realised that people read the paper...guess who forgot to put the garage sale in the paper? Yep, blondie here. So, after a dismal effort the first time around (where only $250 worth of stuff was sold) I decided with much hesitation to have another garage sale and this time stick it in the paper! It was a feeling of de ja vu that second saturday - getting up before 6am, setting up, sitting there all day...Aargh! But on a positive note, at least it helped me to get to know my neighbours which wasn't such a bad thing. My big thanks to all those who donated items for the garage sale (I managed to bag a few bargains myself!), and to my brother Phil whose strong muscles and ute were very helpful, and to Jacina for coming to help that second saturday, and to my friends who decided to have some pity on me and come along to buy some stuff!

Next fundraiser is.... (yes, I am crazy)...a tea towel drive. But, these tea towels are not just your 'run of the mill' kind. No, they are unique in every way... the little children from the local child care centre and where my workplace is (Young Discoverers Child Care Centre) and from the local church have drawn pictures of themselves and we will be using these unique art pieces for our screenprinted design. It will read: "The Children of Helensvale support the Children of Cambodia"...now, wouldn't you want one of those to dry your dishes? If you are interested in purchasing one, please let me know ($12 each or $10 each for 2 or more)...

Thought I would add a few pictures of my family and friends - will miss them all when I am over in Cambodia for those three months...but at least on here I can look at them any time I want to 😊

Ciao!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



30th May 2007

Woo Hoo Baby!
Hi K! It is great to hear how well the fundraising is going, can't say I envy the job! It is hard work. I am so excited for you, I know this has been on your heart a LOOOOOOOOOOOONG time. You are so amazing darling. Was jealous to see a pic of you and Teeka on your blog, it seems like so long since we've seen ech other! And I'm afraid I won't be making the trip across the ditch for a little while.... Walker baby #3 is due mid December!!! Better get back to exciting house work! You're gonna have some awesome stories to tell, can't wait to hear them! Love you HEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAPS!!! Lou
20th June 2007

To my very special kiwi friend..
Hiya girl Wow! Another baby. How exciting! I am so happy for you. You and Bruce are just popping them all out now hey? You are such a fantastic mum - your little ones are so blessed. (And Bruce is a great dad too!). Thanks for your encouragement babe. Send me pictures of your glowing state of pregnancy won't you?! Love ya, Kxx

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb