Welcome to my journey!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast
January 17th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow! Who said I wasn't IT literate? This looks good I think - I'm doing well, so far...

The journey - it began in the year 2001 when I was travelling through Europe wondering what I was going to do with my life... Having already been a Social Worker for a few years and having the experiences of working in both Australia and the UK, with a bit of travelling thrown in (which was my dream!), I found myself faced with questions about "the next step".....

The answer hit me when I was on a bus travelling with fantastic friends (from Oakhall) "I know what is beating in my heart - working in Africa with traumatised kids..." So, being a Christian, I prayed... and prayed... and told God He could send me anywhere in the world and I would go, even if it wasn't Africa...and He decided to send me home to Australia - what the? Not exactly part of 'my plan'.

Still in Aus-land, looking back on the past 6 years I realise with hindsight (good ol' hindsight) that He had a plan to prepare me for the road ahead... So, completing a Play Therapy degree, setting up a child counselling service, going to Cambodia for a short-term trip, and doing lots of 'character building'...was His plan for me over this time.

It gave Him (and me!) a chance to see what I was made of - not tough stuff after all - and to clarify His plan.... And so, I am on the way to the dream I believe He has placed in my heart 😊

So now what? God's timing is perfect - I get to go back to Cambodia after all! I head off over there for 3 months with a dear friend (Jacina) to further explore His next step in The Plan... But to get there, I need to save, save, save, and do lots of fundraising. Jacina and I are planning a charity art exhibition on the Gold Coast in March this year - so keep your eye out!

Thats all from me - gotta work to save that dosh 😊

K




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



4th April 2007

You rock KJ - keep it up!!
4th April 2007

Thanks sis!

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb