Rain, Rain, go away!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Surfers Paradise
December 29th 2010
Published: December 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I sit on my balcony and watch the surf. The only thing that could make this any better is if you could see the sky. Here Iam 2 blocks from a beautiful beach and great surf and it hasnt stopped raining for over 5 days. Its quite a tragety. BUT..im am still so very happy to Finally have somewhere comfortable to stay and not have to stay in dirty, crowded, loud hostels. I have a room to myself, with and oceanview balcony, a washing machine and my very own closet! (funny how you miss the simple things) also I have FREE internet and a surfboard. PEEERRRRFEEECCT.

Was waiting for the rain to stop, but decided to go out surfing today (im going to get wet anyhow) and it was so nice to be out in the water again. Some 12 year old boys were out there rippin it up and making me look bad, though!

Made some friends, a young couple from Germany. Have spend a couple days hanging out with them, so it has been nice to have people to do stuff with. They are studying abroad.
even though it is raining here it is very warm. Its really nice. Im going to miss being warm when I get home! Im excited to go home and see everyone, but part of me is really sad to be leaving too... just a little part.

Ive now been here for almost 8 weeks and Ive spent a small fortune on this trip (why does Australia have to be soo expensive! I spent 12 bucks sending 8 postcards today! yikes) but Im very glad i did it. I probably wouldnt even give up the really crappy parts like being stuck with crazies on a farm in the middle of nowhere because of flooding, or wasting a week doing nothing because of the rain, or (almost) not having a place to sleep a couple of times, and not being able to sleep at all for 3 nights because your sharing a room with 6 loud, inconsiderate Asian girls that apparently never sleep, and the times of feeling really lonley. Makes you appreciate whats important. You start to be happy just to have a place to sleep, food, and people to talk to.

Australia has been dissapointing me in some ways, but I have met some really great people and that has really made it worthwhile. I think ive met more people in the last two months than I have met in the last 5 years😊 People from all different backgrounds too, so that has been really cool. Ive learned a few things for sure.

Of course another great thing about this trip too,.. is that Ryan realized he just cant live without me, so Im glad he learned that very important lesson. hahah 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb