Surfers in the Ghetto


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Surfers Paradise
November 12th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The closer I get to age 26, the more I wish I could stay 25 forever.
I have decided 25 is a good age to be.
Luckily my friend Mariko has had to hit the latter end of her 20's before me so we headed to the Gold Coast to celebrate her entrance to the nearly 30 group.
We rented a tiny car with a name I have never heard of and the five of us (Mariko, Ed, Gard, Sandra and I) squished in.
It is only a 2 hour drive and we passed the time by playing "I spy" and "the ABC' game.

We stayed at a hostel in Surfer's Paradise.
It was NOT paradise.
The hostel rooms were less than pleasing but the nice pool helped to make up for it.

The Gold Coast has been hyped, hyped, hyped and I must say I am not sure why.
It is a tourist trap and I can't imagine what regular dwellers of this city do on a daily basis.
I also found myself feeling very deffensive about the way staff of bars/restaurants treated people. Rush, rush, rush...just as I was getting all huffy about it I realized that it was exactly how I would be treated at home and that I have really become acustomed to the way the people in my town take the time to talk to me and actually enjoy conversation.

It was nice to go out to a more regular night life as the Sunny Coast has little to offer after 5pm and it was nice that shops were open till a more reasonable hour.

We ate at an AMAZING Thai restaurant as well as had breakfast at a Japanese restaurant.
I think the highlight of the trip for me was going out for dinner as that is a luxury I can not afford on a regular basis.

All in all we had a great time and it was nice to "get away"
But at the end of the trip I was happy to return to my quiet Sunny Coast


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb