More Adventures


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Surfers Paradise
January 27th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey Guys!
This week has been super hectic! I am starting to get into my assignments for classes. I did homework ALL day yesterday. What a way to spend a Saturday, huh? A couple of days ago, my friends and I planned a trip to Sydney over Easter! I am really excited for that. We also planned a trip to Melbourne in early March. I have only planned a couple of trips because it is sooo expensive. I know people that have planned like 6 trips!!! Holy cow. A lot of people are here with Daddy’s money though, so that’s probably why.
For Sydney, I am flying there with 3 other friends and we are going to see the Opera House, Darling Harbor, Blue Mountains, etc. And since we’re girls, we’ll probably make time for shopping too : ) I haven’t decided yet because it’s really expensive, but we want to do the bridge climb on the Sydney Harbor Bridge! It’s about a 3 ½ hour climb. Actually, never mind I just decided that I’m going to do it.
In Melbourne we are going to Great Ocean Road and this island that has tons on penguins on it! I don’t really know much more about it yet.
I have learned that Bond Uni is pretty unique to Australia compared to other uni’s. It is very international and there aren’t as many Aussies as I had hoped. The ratio is about 50/50. The other day, I was in my tutorial for my developmental disabilities class, and I was the only American for a change. The others were Australian. One of our assignments said that it had to be done on “A4” paper and I didn’t know what that was, so I asked. Apparently it’s just regular computer paper. One of the girls laughed and said in her cute accent, “That’s the funniest question ever!!! What do you called it?” Then they started asking me questions about America and where I was from. They asked me if we had Billabong and Quicksilver (clothing brands) in the U.S. It was funny because I think that they were just about as fascinated with me as I was with them!
On Friday, we went to the beach and shopping at Surfer’s Paradise all day. By the end of the day we were exhausted and looking for a nice sit-down place to eat. Everyone just wanted pizza or something. After looking at like a gazillion menus we ate at this one Italian restaurant. Their pizzas we $23!!!! WITH ONLY LIKE 8 pieces! Man, they’re killing us over here! We are all going to come home poor! We were told that the reason everything is so expensive for us is because Australians are paid more than Americans. That means that at a restaurant you should not tip because the waiters actually make decent money.
Today I went to church with a friend. So far we haven’t been huge fans of the churches here, but there really aren’t any other options. I REALLY miss church in Lexington, A LOT! The sermon was good though and afterwards we picked up a paper with details about a mission trip in February!! It will be going to an Aboriginal town! We both felt called to go, so we are definitely going to go for it! I am really excited.
After church, I went for a swim. It was nice, but I am really out of shape. I look like one giant freckle. My face is absolutely COVERED!
That’s about all for now because I need to start kickin’ on some schoolwork. MISS EVERYONE TONS! STAY IN TOUCH!
Love,
Kelly
P.S. sorry for the lack of photos. For some reason facebook uploading doesnt want to work very often

Advertisement



27th January 2008

Wowie
wow, kell, you're doing so many cool things i don't know where to start! the bridge climb sounds awesome. any chance of a bungee at the top?? have you spotted many dolphins at the beach? the aboriginal town will probably be AMAZING. talk about true aussie culture! i'm glad classes are going well and that you're trying so many new things. i love your blog, keep it up!
30th January 2008

aussie fun
Kelly, It sounds like you are having a grand time and allowing yourself to be open to all different kinds of opportunities!!! Take care, keep these blogs coming!!! Love, Jean Ann
9th February 2008

Having fun
Hey Kel; Sound like you are having a great time and getting lots of cool experiences. Please keep the spider and bugs "down under" though. Asia would fliop if she saw a spider that big, talk about screaming I know she would shake the rafters if she saw a spider that BIG.. Lucky they aren't dangerous though. Love ya Aunt Kathy

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb