Why do we climb mountains? My afternoon in the Glasshouse Mountains


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Mount BeerwahMount BeerwahMount Beerwah

Taken from the summit of Mount Beerburrum, Glasshouse Mountains National Park, Queensland Australia


Why do we climb mountains?
My adventure today was to go check out some of the views around the Glasshouse mountains. I drove from Caloundra using the Steve Irwin Highway to visit Mount Tibrogargan and Mount Beerburrum.
I'm not going to go on and on about how beautiful it was- the pictures should speak for themselves. What I will say however is that Mount Beerburrum is worth the slippery-almost vertical- sealed path to the top.

What I will do is share my pondering on climbing mountains.

The aboriginal people of the area did not climb these mountains. They revered them as places of the Gods and regarded them with awe. I compare this to Moses from the Bible's Old Testament, or Jesus in the New Testament who climbed the mountains as a way of seeking God, of being closer to him.

So why do WE climb mountains? What is the drive? For me personally I enjoy the achievement. I enjoy looking at the mountain and saying "yes, I have climbed you!" It makes us feel big, strong, powerful I think.

I'm not saying that climbing mountains is wrong- Anyone who knows me well, knows that climbing mountains is something I dream about. But what I am saying is lets search our motives.

Do we climb to show how big we are? Because really, all we are is ants on a mound in this big wide universe. To aim for greatness is futile.

Or do we climb with humility? Seeking, adventuring, asking "What new sight might I be blessed with? New friend I might encounter? What else may I be awe stuck with today in this wild and wondrous world?"

The mountains are his, the rivers are his.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb