There is a Song for Everything


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Glasshouse Mountains NP
September 1st 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I kicked off my weekend by spending hours in the park chatting to my friend Mariko.
Much to my amusement as we talked a parrot kept popping in and out of a hole in a tree directly behind Mariko.
The parrots are definitely something I will never tire of.

Afterwards my friend Aimee had us up to her apartment for drinks (only a few too many😊 ) where we met our new friends from Norway.
They are a couple here on a university exchange and they are alot of fun.
We are slightly worried we have corrupted them (apperently in Norway you do not engage in any illegal activities...which of course I don't either dad 😊 but they seem to enjoy our outgoing personalities.

Saturday was a series of unfortunate events involving drunk Kiwi men...luckily they were not with me and I could just go home 😊

Sunday was the perfect day for me.
All of our friends from our building (Aimee, Tim and their son Oliva, Jenn, Sandra, Gard and I) were up and out at 9:30am on our way to the Glass House Mountains which are extinct volcanos.
We got off the train in the middle
GlassHouse Mountains 007GlassHouse Mountains 007GlassHouse Mountains 007

Squiggly Tree. Bugs burrow under bark which then falls off and leaves tree looking like this.
of nowhere and began our walk to ward the mountains.
Along the way we saw pinapple feilds, squiggly tree's, and a kookaburra.

The climb itself was a challenge yet one that anybody could accomplish.
It got the heart pumping and the sweat flowing.
A great part to the day was all the singing and dancing we did...this tends to happen when you are with Aimee and Oliva.
We pumped ourselves up by belting out tunes such as "I like to move it move it"
Aimee decided there is a song for every situation and that you can always be singing....I feel the same way about dance😊

The top lookout was gorgeous, although you could not see the ocean which was strange as the ocean is everywhere we go around here.
Living on the mountain were gekko's and mass amounts of fly's.

We headed down with jelly legs and then headed to the tavern for chips (fries) and pinapple juice.

This day was primo (primo is my friend Aimee's favorite word..that and sweet ass). There is nothing I love more than tramping with friends.

A new word for today is one that we learned from out Norway friends Sandra and Gard.....Skole (clearly that is not how you spell it cuz it is not an english word..but that is what it sounds like to me) it means Cheers.






Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

GlassHouse Mountains 026GlassHouse Mountains 026
GlassHouse Mountains 026

What does this look like to you?


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb