I've fallen in love...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
June 5th 2006
Published: June 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Completely content...Completely content...Completely content...

I loved Fraser Island so much, I want to work there when I return with my working visa. This photo was taken Indian Head which was my favourite part of the island...
The ferry to Fraser Island took about 40 minutes, it was early in the morning and I was very glad I brought my scarf! Another coincidence occurred with Sarah, a girl I'd been speaking to for ages on gapyear, was in fact on the same tour as me...

Our vehicle was a monster, big beefy wheels to tackle the sand roads and bumps. It was like a ride at first, shaking us all over the place going down the tracks.

Our first freshwater lake was Basin Lake. Twas far too cold to swim in but I did give my feet a little splish splash...

After walking through Pile Valley and having a feast for lunch we went to Lake McKenzie to spend the rest of the afternoon. This lake is stunning, it really is, but of course it attracts heaps of people, most being those on the self-drive backpacker tours who are drunk on 'goon' for a good majority of the day.
The sand at this lake is perfect for cleaning jewellery apparantly, so Small, your necklace is now looking wonderful and shiny again!

Our accomodation for our time on Fraser Island was at the Kingfisher Resort,
Beach highways...Beach highways...Beach highways...

It was so cool to drive along the beach, with a window view of the ocean. Was a bit difficult later on in the day though when the tide was coming in, causing us to dodge the waves, so much fun though...
although not in the posh expensive section, we were hidden at the back with the Dingo Bar instead of the luxury Sand Bar...although on day 2 we did go and use the hot tub, squeezing as many of us as we could into it and turning the water a really pleasant colour...

Day two we drove to the Maheno Shipwreck which is perfectly situated half in the water and half in the sand along the east coast. The ocean would wash under over and around it...

Zooming down the beach we spent quite a while at champagne pools, again there were heaps of people there but not as many as Lake McKenzie...

At lunch time, Peter (tour guide) gave us all little plastic lunchboxes so we could climb up Indian Head and eat our lunch accompanied by a stunning view of the island...
Moments like this is why I love travelling, just immersing yourself within the world around you. Indian Head was just amazing, my favourite part of the island...

The last day I actually found out that Peter was a photographer for the island, all the postcards in the shop and this book that I
Jumping for joy...Jumping for joy...Jumping for joy...

For some reason Sarah and I felt like doing jumps, cartwheels and handstands for the three days. I felt like I was back at primary school, it was great...
was reading for ages are all his work! The text in it is beautifully crafted too...he's lived on the island for 11 years and was just so passionate about it and full of knowledge...so I feel very lucky to have had him as my tour guide...

Lake Wabby is at the bottom of some really steep sand dunes, where you could sandboard down and then skim across the water at the bottom...I would've done it if there wasn't water at the end! Far to breezy to get wet! I think I've become too accustomed to Australian summer/autumn weather...I'm going to find New Zealand weather a shock I think...brrrr...

Our final destination on Fraser Island was Lake Birrabeen. This lake was just as beautiful as McKenzie and even better because it was deserted, not a single soul there...Spent the rest of the afternoon there, some played frisbee whilst Sarah and I carried on trying to improve our handstands and cartwheels...ahaha so much fun...I'm determined to be able to do a decent cartwheel again and hold a handstand for at least five seconds...Danny, maybe you can help me when I come see you in New Zealand...ahaha...not long now until that
West coast sunset...West coast sunset...West coast sunset...

Sarah and I ran from the boat to the beach to capture our sunset shots. I love it how you can literally see the sun moving down and that last glimmer of red is just beautiful...
adventure begins...



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Shimmering lakes...Shimmering lakes...
Shimmering lakes...

It was amazing how clear all the lakes were, surrounded by heaps of soft sand and forest...
Slightly different...Slightly different...
Slightly different...

Not quite the same as the M5 back home somehow...
Champagne Pools...Champagne Pools...
Champagne Pools...

The sound of the waves crashing over the rocks was so relaxing...
Smelly bats...Smelly bats...
Smelly bats...

They were very loud and very smelly but so interesting to watch...


9th June 2006

JDH says hi!
west coast sunset amazing ....spoke to ian going next week to see him, catch up soon love u sis xxxxmmmmwwwaahhh pib
9th June 2006

JETPACK
Hi Lucy - did you have a jet-pack strapped to your back when you jumped off the sand??? (Don't know about 'White Men Can't Jump - Sarah definitely can't!!). Wish Nigel luck when I play him at tennis over the weekend - cos he's gonna lose..................! Have fun! - Unc Alan x
9th June 2006

smelly bat?
smelly bats or smelly cats? I feel a song coming on!! your photography is amazing lucy the whitsundays are truly wonderful and so diverse from your next adventure in New Zealand. Keep having HEAPS of fun! love you. M L Z M xxxx PS world cup starts tomorrow...exciting!!
9th June 2006

lucky girl!
You mean your tour guide was Peter Lik? What a lucky girl you are Luce. I have his Great Barrier Reef book and feel soooo sad that when we were there the reef looked nothing like his glorious pictures. Keep up the cartheels and handstands. If you don't get any help in NZ, I'm sure Stefan will give you some pointers when we see you in August. cheers, liisa
10th June 2006

Oy i made you a cd for your car, i posted it yesterdaY. I HOPE you Get it xxx

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb