Fraser Island Camping Adventure


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
February 5th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi there!

Kristen and I returned from a 2 night camping trip the other day at Fraser Island, and it was absolutely amazing!

When I last wrote, we were in Noosa. Nothing terribly exciting to report there. We stayed just 2 nights, it was raining on and off and pretty overcast. We spent one day walking along trails in National Park and other day on Sunshine Beach. Then we went to Hervey Bay to commence our Fraser Island tour. We spent one night at a hostel in Hervey Bay, where we met the other people we'd be camping with. Everyone was split into 5 groups of about 10. Our group consisted of myself and Kristen, Katie--a 26 year old parole officer from Germany, Anneka-- a 20 year old german girl who just finished highschool and is travelling for about a year, Troels--a 22 year old guy from Denmark, his bestfriend Rasmas--also from Denmark, 24, Tom--24, pharmaceutical rep from London, Tom--18, guy from England, Chris--27, also from England, and Rob--22 and also from England.

The 10 of us made up a grocery list and myself, Kristen, Troels and Rasmas drove to the grocery store to do the shopping. The next morning we had to get up at 5:30am to load our vehicles (these 4 wheel drive vans), and watch a "dingo safe' video. We were given a map of Fraser Island along with an itinerary of possible places to visit each day. We were also given the tide times, so we'd know when we could and couldn't drive along the beach. Then we loaded into the van, headed to the ferry, got taken to Fraser Island, got into the van and we were on our own. Just 10 strangers, a map, and a whole lot of sand! Honestly, at times I really felt like I was on Survivor!

So basically, Fraser Island is just one huge sand Island with gorgeous fresh water lakes on it. Our first stop was Basin Lake. It was incredible! We were the first group to find it, so it was all ours, for a little while anyways. I really can't wait 'til I can get some pictures up so you know just what I'm talking about. Unfortunately that won't be until I start school and have more acces to a computer. I tried uploading some pictures today, but it was too slow and I get charged per minute!

Basically the lakes are chrystal clear, no fish, and no seaweed. It was so nice to not have the sting of salt water! And the sand is white. Our first day we also visited Lake Mackenzie, and Lake Wabby. The drive was always very bumpy. Sometimes we drove on sandy roads through bush, and other times we drove on the beach. There was never a dull moment either. The two guys from Denmark were absolutely hilarious!!!! The themes of all our jokes became dingos. We called ourselves the flying dingos, and Troels would go on about climbing dingos, surfing dingos, and Holy Dingos--those that could walk on water.

We had to stop driving by 6:30pm because that's when the tide came in and we were told that we would each lose our $60 bond if the van got salt water on it. So we set up camp right on the beach, next to 3 other groups. We set up our tents, and then bbq'ed some steak for dinner. The sky was absolutely amazing. Because the island is so secluded there were no buildings or lights for miles and miles. I'd never seen the sky like this before. I saw a shooting star too! And we saw dingos!!!!!! That night I saw 4. One got pretty close to our steaks cooking on the grill, and scared Tom right off his seat.

The next day, we cooked saucages for breakfast, drove up to Indian Head, a great big rock that overlooks the ocean. Then onto Elie Creek, and another lake. We set up camp on teh beach again, and this time I saw so many dingos I couldn't keep count. One actually stole our garbage! We were literally standing 2 feet away from it, and didn't even notice. All of a sudden, we just saw that it was gone. We found it the next day half way down the beach. Needless to say, the dingos made me jumpy. It was dark outside, and we sat on the overturned coolers by our torch light. Every now and then we'd flash the flashlight around and see and Dingo and of course I'd scream. Even when I thought I saw a dingo, I screamed.

On our last day, we went to Lake Mackenzie again before we had to be back at the ferry for 2:30pm. It was just such an incredible time! Honestly, I recommend it to everyone. You have to do this at some point in your life!

We arrived back at the hostel and spent one more night there before moving on to Airlie Beach (where I am currently). That night we partied with one of the other groups at the hostel's bar. This group consisted of 5 Swedish girls, 1 Swedish guy, and 3 Canadian guys. The Swedish girls were sooo much fun, and man, do they know how to party! They drank the Canadian guys under the table.

The next night we took an overnight bus to Airlie Beach. We spent all day today on the beach and tomorrow we leave for our 2 nights tour of sailing the Whit Sunday Islands. The swedish girls will also be on our boat as well as Troels and Rasmas! So we'll be sailing during the day on The Pride of Airlie, and then spending our nights at a resort on an island. I can't wait!!!!!

Hope everyone is doing well at home. Happy 21st birthday Anna!

Love,
Becca

Advertisement



5th February 2006

OMG I AM SO JEALOUS! WHY AM I NOT WITH YOU??
heeeeeeeeey Becca! Sorry I haven't written any comments before this, but I lost the blog address until Kristen sent it to me again today. Anyway, it sounds like you are having the time of your life and I am soooooooo upset that i'm not there with you, seeing as how I was on your last worldly adventure (France)! I've decided that I MUST get to Australia one of these days...all of your postings have inspired me so much! I have also decided that we need to go back to Europe together!!! You can't say no - i'm already planning...how does summer after we graduate sound? Good? GOOD! I'm planning our route now! heheheh Anyway, I have to get back to more boring life now...give Kristen lots of hugs for me. I miss you guys so much - Queen's is not the same without you! Love you both, Ashley xoxoxo
6th February 2006

Really does sound like Survivor!!
BUT with food!! Hey Rebecca, sounds absolutely amazing (except for the dingos, I don't even know what those are?) Keep on filling me in on your adventures have fun and play safe.
6th February 2006

I googled to see a dingo.
Hey Rebecca, I looked up dingos on the net and man those things are scary!!! You are brave to be camping with them all around.
8th February 2006

UR HOT
hey beccs! Those stars sound cool.. remember that since ur in the opposite hemisphere you have totally new contellations! Check them out for me and enjoy. love ur "astronomer" friend cait ;) keep smiling!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb