Lovin' the Giant Sand Mass


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
June 7th 2008
Published: June 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok Ok OK,

So I recently returned back to Hervey Bay from Fraser Island. Absolutely Amazing time! It would probably take me years to type out all the fabulous ness of it.

I ended up going with two girls that I met in Noosa (Abby and Kirsty). I was sharing a room with two guys (Ollie and Steve) who were just so rad.. and turns out they had met all these people on Oz Experience (the bus im on) heading up from Melbourne. Sooo through them I met these girls and they (drunkenly, haha suckers) invited me on their trip with them.

Fraser Island groups are supposed to be these amazing bonding experiences where you meet all these people that will be your friends for life. Yeah. Not so much in our case. We had this absolutely anal retentive Spanish guy who was concerned about EVERYTHING. Just about made Abby mental.

I was just trying to print off my resume and it wasted like a million years of credit.

Anyway, so we also had these two girls that were like 19 and nice b ut pretty much stuck to themselves. And then a French couple that were really sweeeet, but barely spoke English.

But we still had an amazing time. We did a self drive, so we wented a 4X4 truck and loaded it up with honker tents and food and GOON and whatnot.. and took a ferry over to the island. Fraser Island is completely made of sand and is the second largest sand island in the world. It's amazing. Despite the sand there is still a ton of vegetation and wildlife.. lakes.. etc. Amazing.

The island is also swarming with dingoes.. as I found out after a pee break in the dark.. having one follow you out of the darkness without you knowing is slightly traumatizing let me tell you.

The first day there we drove all the way up to the top of the Island - to Indian Head. We ended up not having a lot of time.. even tho we were promised "HEAPS of time" by the cat killer.. this guy is not my friend. haha. But we also go to check out the Champagne pools which were amazing.. I fell in love and really didn't want to leave.. This happened a few times during the three days.

That night we got a campsite under the stars next to the ocean. Unreal. I have never seen so many stars in my life.. plus we would see like 5+ shooting stars a night.

The second day we went to a lake called Lake Wabby.. I'm in love with Lake Wabby - it truly has my heart. It is surrounded by these huge sand hills that you can crazy carpet down and whatnot. We never got to do that as we didn't bring crazy carpets (we tried plastic bags.. did NOT work) so we ended up just rolling down the giant hills into the lake. AWESOME. Sooo much fun, I loved it. Abby even got so into it half her bikini popped off.. revealing herself to the boys that were watching us.. and they made sure to let her know that they saw. 😉

Since I'm running out of time I'll have to add more detail later..


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb