Getting Started...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
March 3rd 2008
Published: March 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

HomeHomeHome

...is where my heart will ALWAYS be
Here I am, at work, 2am, waiting impatiently for the time to count down to my departure. Its roughly 6 and a half weeks today until I leave the country on my 'World Tour' as my brother called it (I couldn't have come up with better)...

I just thought id pop a few little blogs in, pre-departure bits'n'pieces, for those of you who are intrested in doing the same sort of thing, or are intrested in stalking me, to give you a heads up on the pros and cons ive encountered along the planning way! I've also been researching traveller budgets, so you will see a lot of figures in here, just to give you a heads up on the hidden costs, the cheap and expensive, along with the good, bad and ugly parts of the world, I want to incorporate as much information as possible!

First of all I have had to put my flights back 2 months. Instead of departing on the 25th of February, I've had to re-book my flights (and fork out another $650 to change the initial date (of which im told I have unlimited flight changes for all other flights once into my tour)). This was due to the implementation of Biometrics from the British High Commission in Canberra, its basically being fingerprinted, photographed and getting all of your visa application stamped so that it can be sent off to the Commission - correctly. For this I had to make my way to my choice of Brisbane, Sydney, Canberra or Melbourne to get all this done, Sydney is a favorite place of mine, not only because its such an amazing city, but it also hosts some of my amazing family (Andy, Kylie, Sam and Cate).

After my week long trip to Sydney, it took roughly 4 working days for my credit card to be debited the $505 for the Working Visa, I still dont have the Passport in front of me, but I have 100%!f(MISSING)aith that the next time I am on here I will have it and wont have to rely on my online Visa statement... Hmm, now I'm starting to get a little anxious...

Now I need to give you my Itinerary, which I do have in front of me:

I leave this fantastic Island and Incredible people behind on the 15th of April and head down to Hobart to have a last week with MORE amazing family down there, (Steve, Chris, Georgie, Maddy and Jack) back to Warrnambool/Hamilton on the 20th of April for a few days with Mum and Dad, Sal and Bel, yep, you guessed it, MOREEEE amazing family, then its down to Melbourne on the 23rd for my last 2 nights/days in Australia with friends and family. OK, Itinerary, Itinerary.

Friday April 25, 2008
Tullamarine Arpt, Melbourne VI - Australia
~to~
Los Angeles Intl Arpt, Los Angeles CA - US

Sunday May 05, 2008
Los Angeles Intl Arpt, Los Angeles CA - US
~to~
Frankfurt Intl Arpt, Frankfurt Germany - this one is just a 2 hour stopover:::
~to~
Heathrow, London, United Kingdom - London is my last stop and will be the gateway to the rest of my World Tour. Coming home I have the following Stopover (As long as I come home within 12 months):::

Frankfurt Intl Arpt, Frankfurt Germany
~to~
Suvarnabhumi Intl Arpt, Bangkok Thailand.

Ticket Total: $2850. ALL prices are in AUD >;-)


AIM OF TRIP:
* To see as much as Europe as I can, preferably in a campervan with GREAT crew...
* On a strict budget (working towards $10,000AUD) with the option of implementing my UK Working Visa.
* To come home alive - although not an AIM, it is preferable.
* Watch this space - more to come.








Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb