My Horrible Camping Safari...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I have just returned from my horrible 3 day 2 night safari on Fraser Island... WOOHOO!! I am so happy to be back on the mainland.. needless to say I am definitely not the camping type of person.. especially under the circumstances which we were camping.

Australia is supppooosseeed to be hot.. even during winter! Especially queensland which is classified as the Sunshine State on all the liscence plates here. Well I can tell you it is a lie!!! The weather for the past 2 nights has been horrible. Today is the first day we have seen sunshine in since we left.

The first night we were camping out, it was torrential downpours, and we were told later, it was the coldest day they had had in 30 years.. What luck eh!?!? We actually had 2 girls who refused to stay following that night, but because it cost alot of money, me and the rest of the group decided to stay and stick it out. I can say I was wearing a scarf and hoodie the whole time with 2 pairs of pants, and socks and shoes. I was FREEZING. Not to mention the sleepingbags we were rented out were horribly inadequate for the weather.

When we went to sleep the first night it was raining, and waking up... well it was still raining.. I really had to push myself to stick it out! I really wouldn't have minded retourning to the nice beds at the hostel. *Sigh*

As horrific as the weather was, There are some beautiful sights on Fraser Island... The Champagne Pools are pools of water that are fed by waves crashing over rocks. The bubbly waves is what it gets its name from, and the water is beautiful and clear, with exotic fishes swimming through the pool. It was definitely something that made me happy that I stayed.

There was also a lake called Lake Mackenzie which has white sands until about 5 feet into the water, where it turns black. The water is also clear and looks so inviting, even on a cold rainy day it makes you want to jump in. ( I didn't, but I did take a few steps into it!)

Unfortunately, I didn't see any dingos, but I did see a small shark, some dolphins, manta rays, sting rays, and half of a whale on a lookout point called Indian Head. It was definitely worth hiking up there, and worth the extra cold nights. Thank goodness it wasn't rainging today or we definitely would not have seen them.

Anyway, I have just arrived back a couple hours ago, and already I am packing up my bags and heading up to Airlie Beach.. to get ready for my Sailing adventure around the Whitsundays. 3 days 2 nights out on a boat. Hopefully the weather is much better.

Hope everyone is well!

Mylis

Advertisement



25th June 2007

Wonderful Trip.
Hi Mylis, Mom and I have just been reading about your trip,Australia sounds like a very beautiful country.I am sure it is a journey you will never forget. Makes me wish I was a few years younger and I could go over there too. I will look forward to seeing all your pictures when you come home. I bet you enjoyed meeting up with some of your friends and talking over old times. Well it seems as if supper is ready so I had better go.We are a little late as we had Margaret and Florabel here this afternoon. Much love Nana.

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.3kb