Home From My Reef Adventures!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

My RoomMy RoomMy Room

This was my room on the Reef Encounter. I was in a room all by myself (turned out to be a good thing!) and had my own bathroom as well. Out of any of the group, I had the best bedroom they said. I'm special, I guess!
... and every penny that I spent was worth it!

I just walked into the hotel room from the Reef Experience (and Reef Encounter) Great Barrier Reef cruise... truly a once in a lifetime experience...

I'll have to get my thoughts together better in order to attempt to describe what it was like, but for now, I'll upload some pictures. I did buy an underwater camera as well as using Rebekah's disposable underwater camera because she bought a waterproof digital while she was in Sydney.

YES! All the pictures uploaded... and I have more of the reef and fish and some turtles as well... they're on my disposable camera somewhere... so if I can get them developed at the beach, I can show everyone!!! Yay!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

View From My RoomView From My Room
View From My Room

I'm not complaining... I paid the price of the bottom deck (steerage) and I got middle class! Ha!
BathroomBathroom
Bathroom

So cool that I got my own bathroom... you're jealous, right?
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Sorry the picture is a bit crooked, it's tough to take a still and straight picture on a rocking boat... not too shabby though!
Scuba GearScuba Gear
Scuba Gear

I did not scuba dive... snorkeling seemed just fine for me!!
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

This was the sunrise outside of my window this morning at 6:00am... I almost went snorkeling around this time but I was too tired. So, I went at 8:30am and then again at 1:30-2:00pm.
Another ShotAnother Shot
Another Shot

May be similar, I can't tell... I'm just uploading the pictures that look good when I preview them.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

You get the idea on how beautiful it was...
The Great Barrier ReefThe Great Barrier Reef
The Great Barrier Reef

View off the back of the Reef Experience... it was around low tide when this picture was taken so... you usually cannot see this much of the reef.
More ReefMore Reef
More Reef

This is the above water pictures that I got... the below water pictures are (should be) much better!!!
First BoatFirst Boat
First Boat

This is the boat that we took out to Reef Encounter... the overnight boat.
Reef EncounterReef Encounter
Reef Encounter

This is reef encounter, the boat that we spent the night on last night... (08/01/08)
ReefReef
Reef

Reef and maybe some snorkelers in the picture... I really can't tell.


2nd August 2008

well worth the bucks...
You are right, it was well worth the bucks....who can say they have been snorkeling at The Great Barrier Reef. Looking forward to the other pix, snorkeling was my favorite activity when Dad and I went to Hawaii. See you very soon! Love, Mom

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb