Oz : part 1


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
November 11th 2005
Published: November 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Clown FishClown FishClown Fish

These guys are tiny, the length of a finger.
Hello again all, I made it to Australia after nearly 33 years in this life. Some might say it's been a long time coming (me anyway).

So I flew into Brisbane on Sunday morning, early, and caught a connecting inernal flight to Cairns, arriving early afternoon. You could feel the heat of Cairns immediately, it's consistently around 28-32c here during the day, and probably only drops to 20/22 in the evenings, i.e. tropical!

On Monday I started the dive course and immediately met some really nice people to have a laugh with. The instructor we had was called Arek, from Poland, and was a top bloke - he really knew his stuff as we found out along the way. The course was a 5-day open-water PADI course, certified and recognised around the world (apart from Britain and very few other places, apparently) and consisted of 2 days theory and pool training followed by 3 days and 2 nights live-aboard on the Great Barrier Reef.

I won't bore you with the first two days, although they were great fun for us, but the last 3 days (we got back 2 hours ago) have been totally amazing. I've seen stuff I never thought I would and learnt some great scuba skills I can now use virtually anywhere in the world.

As well as doing normal daytime dives, to depths of 18metres, we also got taught about underwater photography. I've attached a couple of my snaps for your viewing pleasure. I honestly took these myself (apart from the one with me in it - Arek took it) so hope you like!

The weirdest bit was definitely doing the night dive though. We dived into pitch black water, in small groups of 5 or 6, instructor-led thank God, then dived for around 45 mins with just a torch each. It's pretty strange seeing the reef so quiet (fish do sleep...) but some of the other marine life appears at night. We saw a huge lobster wandering around the corals and a big turtle sleeping inside a cave. Pretty impressive to see at night!

We also did a deep dive today and went to 30metres (the max depth on normal tanks is 40m). We saw venomous lionfish which are cool to see, and a couple of reef sharks at around 1.5m in length. We also found out what it was
Turtle and meTurtle and meTurtle and me

Not scary at all.
like to suffer nitrogen narcosis which is a fairly common dive ailment at depth. It's a bit like being drunk whereby your brain slows down and you feel a bit happy! Anyway, Arek made us do a number pointing game, counting from 1 to 20. It took me 26 seconds at the bottom but only 16 back on the ship - definitely like being drunk!!!

So basically I've seen what I wanted to in the marine world so far - sharks, turtles and just loads of colour as you can see in the clown fish picture. I'm in Cairns for at least a couple more days while I decide what to do next. Am definitely doing white water rafting here, as the Tully river is meant to be amazing for that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb