Cairns to Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey there, no worries, this won't be a long one.
But the time has come for me to leave Cairns and I fly down to adelaide this afternoon, about 3500 miles, so not too far, have to laugh though, a guy who's been staying in my hostel is catching the train back down to sydney today, 45 hours, he says it's alright, does 30hours to brisbane, have an hour there and then another 15 to sydney, sucker.
So what have I been doing, er, not a whole lot, have been trying to save my pounds and be a good boy, not alot has been going on in cairns in general, although we had easter weekend, which was a bit of a pain, the pubs wouldn't let u in unless u bought a meal, even at half eleven, and they weren't even selling food anymore, don't think oli was too happy with that, don't think he got on well with door staff generally up here. I moved out of the hostel that oli was staying at about a week ago, it was really nice there, and just goes to show that even though i had left, i still spent more time there than at my own hostel, but got a better deal there, and was really close to the lagoon, there really isn't much of a beach here, just sea with lots of jellyfish. Met some good people at oli's hostel, went out into town and had good night with them, could be classed as a bit crazy though, but was good fun.
Oli left on friday and since then we have had 1 small shower and the sun has been shining, it gets really hot up here, and very humid, have been getting through about 3 tshirts a day, so since then I have been taking it easy and sitting by the lagoon, working on my sunburn and reading alot.(don't worry I have been using sunblock) . Have been looking at the weather for Adelaide and is looking very english at the moment, may have to try and find my hoody to wear and some jeans.
Have got 6 days in Adelaide, well it will be more like 4, am arriving really late tonight, fortunatly where i'm staying has a 24 hour bar, and then on the last day I leave at 5 in the morning to start heading north
The lagoonThe lagoonThe lagoon

This is the view from my hostel
toward Darwin. But not sure what to do with my days there, have heard there is not a lot to do, but danny suggested going to the coopers brewery, so that is on my agend, they do make really good beer it has to be said.
Think that is about it, just got to sit around now and wait for my flight, speak to u all soon, i'm back home in a month, some ways good, some ways not so.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

My hostelMy hostel
My hostel

Also known as the prison
Oli, Charlotte and MeOli, Charlotte and Me
Oli, Charlotte and Me

Another night in cairns


17th April 2007

Call yourself a traveller?!
Cant believe your not catchng the train to Adelaide, it's no that far! xx

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb