Day 3 to the Cape


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
May 14th 2015
Published: May 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

At the FJ Holden cafe in HughendenAt the FJ Holden cafe in HughendenAt the FJ Holden cafe in Hughenden

Tonina and I having morning tea
Hi all, we have reached our first destination which is the Coconut Palms park in Cairns. We got here in the dark to a welcome from the grand kids and my son and his wife and a few others. After 3 days driving and over 3,000km we are glad to have reached this point. Was another interesting day today. We stayed overnight at Barcaldine in self contained cabins. Went across the road to an open eatery and I had pork belly. I was in heaven. The day this morning started at 6am and we were in open country and plenty of kangaroos around. I had another 3 near misses and we counted 211 dead kangaroos and I pig between Barcaldine and Muttaburra. These are really dumb animals. They see you coming and just head for the car. Our lead car hit three. I missed them all but screened each time they got close. I screamed into the walkie talki so I shared my excitement with the others. We spend about 350km on dirt roads and quite a bit of it was 4 wheel drive only Although I reckon a normal sedan could have got through if pressed. Plenty of dust and
FJ Holden CafeFJ Holden CafeFJ Holden Cafe

Corey, Rhiannon and Matthew having breakfast at the FJ Holden cafe.
corrugations. We had morning team at Hughenden in the FJ Holden cafe. Kara's dad had suggested we go there was coffee. I had a hot chocolate. In heaven again.

Lunch was at the roadhouse Oasis I a place called Conjuboy. It was basically in the middle of nowhere and was a pleasant surprise after a long road on corrugations.

Tomorrow we are going to spend the dayat this park. We will check the cars and make sure all is ok. Troopy did not miss a beat. We will spend three days in this park and leave for the Cape on Sunday morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb