After all...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
April 27th 2013
Published: April 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This has been an amazing trip...


• After 2,839 miles (and counting) on the bike...
• After Melbourne, Jindabyne, Kandos, Tenterfield, Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, Mackay, Cairns, and countless in between...
• After feeling the splendor and trials of the Barry Way through the Snowy Mountains and Australia's amazing Alpine Country...
• After cruising through the peaceful Hunter Valley in New South Wales...
• After the lush rain forests of tropical Queensland with walls of green on either side...
• After sleeping in hotels and hostels, motels and motor inns, under the stars, and sharing the homes of others...
• After walking through the most impressive beach I've seen on Cape Woolamai...
• After seeing emus and echidnas, koalas and kangaroos, wombats, crocodiles, of course the little penguins, and many more...
• After hiking through the lushest rain forest on Fraser Island and the gorgeous bush of Walsh's Pyramid...
• After scuba diving the amazing great barrier reef...
• After experiencing highs and lows, ups and downs, and everything in between...
• After being happy to being away from home, and times of homesickness...
• After hours and hours on the bike with a lot of time for personal reflection...
• After learning new limits and new heights...
• After meeting new people from all walks of life...


After all this and more, and a few things yet to come... I have decided my journey is complete. I've had a time like no other. I've experienced everything and more I was hoping to. The last week of this trip was meant to be the long and arduous trek back to Melbourne. I have decided that I will not be doing this, and will just send the bike back, and come home a bit early. The thoughts of potentially bad weather, heading back through heavy-critter country, and putting on miles just for the sake of putting on miles have weighed on me. I'll be home in a few days. Mike

Advertisement



28th April 2013

God speed my friend. Save travels and let me know when you need to be picked up. Cheers!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb