White Water Rafting


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
May 29th 2009
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We spent about 3 days in Cairns. Of course it rained for the first 2 days! So in true style we spent one of the rainy days in the shopping centre and watching Angels and Demons at the cinema (the rain was at the same time as Cheap Tuesday which was good!). We also meet up with a few of the guys from Fraser Island.

Then we went White Water Rafting, which was the main reason for the time in Cairns. It was really good and there were only about 6 boats following each other so we didn't have to wait for too long while people went through the rapids. Our boat was all guys apart from me! This meant I didn't have to do too much as I left most of the paddling to the men. We also had to Australians in the boat - they must have been confused about something as as far as I can work out Australians don't travel in Australia!

Because of the recent floods, the river has changed a lot and there are loads of rocks everywhere, which have moved and been pushed into our way. Also, although the rain has been following us it hasn't been in cairns so it meant that the water level was really low. This meant that we kept getting stuck ontop of rocks and having to bounce on the boat to make it move. All good fun, and did mean a few near misses with people falling out the boat. Luckily no-one fell out, apart from when we were all supposed to fall out as you go down a massive drop and all sit in the front, when you reach the bottom if you haven't already fallen out the guide pushes you out! Although no-one fell out I did manage to crash straight into a massive rock when we went through the rapid. I smashed my head on it (luckily we all had helmets) and smashed my back and elbow on it! Seemed like everyone else saw it coming but I didn't so I didn't move. I am now the owner of two massive bruises on my back (one was from Whitesundays as I walked into something on the boat) and one on my elbow! Not sure why I am being so clumsy at the moment!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.8kb